Gas Fire & Capped Flue

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, sorry I'm new to this and need some help for a colleague. I apologise if I'm posting in the wrong forum, but this seemed most logical!

2 years ago she had a gas fire fitted by a company, she raised concern at the time that the flue was capped. She was told a smoke test would be carried out and highlight any problems before installation.

A smoke test was then carried out and the flue passed, so the fire was installed

A recent smoke test has been carried out by a different engineer from the same company and it failed. The engineer advised her not to use the fire.

The company have offered her a £300 electric fire as a replacement for her £800 gas fire. This fire is her only source of heating so an electric fire would be far too costly to run, and the company have said it's too expensive to sort the flue out.

Here are my questions:

1. Should a gas fire be used with a capped Flue
2. Are there any regulations relating to point 1?
3. Can a flu simply stop extracting gas efficiently over 2 years?
4. Any other points I should know about?

I appreciate any help you can offer!

Thanks

Chris

Sponsored Links
1 &2, check the electric fire installation instructions.

3 Yes, even a change in the weather can make a difference. Birds, nests and loose bricks can also be responsible.

Was the chimney swept before installing the gas fire? To do so now might illuminate/solve the problem.

A proper flue test requires the fire to be taken out, then the flue heated for 10 or 20 minutes. Was that done?

The cap on the flue is probably a red herring as the fire was in use for 2 years. A smoke pellet is used to determine which chimney connects to which fireplace.

The company that installed the gas fire should have checked that the flue and terminal were sound and of an acceptable type prior to installation.