Gas Oven blowing RCD....

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, new member here, but not new to DIY by a long shot.

Bit of an embarrassing one this, given I am an Engineer of over 30yrs, the answer should be obvious but here goes....

I've recently replaced my old gas oven, which had piezo or battery ignition. The new model has electric ignition and a lamp in the oven (massive novelty factor for me being able to see things cooking after all these years).

When the installation guys came with the new cooker, as soon as they plugged it in the circuit breakier (32A kitchen ring) blew. Nothing else blows this circuit. They made arrangements for a replacement, and a few days later the replacement (a Flavel Milano G50) was delivered....aaaand, same result.

Ok, my diagnosis so far :-
1. Nothing else trips this ring.
2. If I plug the cooker into a different circuit, it's fine and works ok.
3. To clarify, the oven, grill and hob are gas, only the lamp and iginition circuit are electric. It is plugged in on a 32A plug.
4. I have done a con-check across the LNE into the back of the cooker, there are no shorts between L-E, N-E, or L-N.
5. If you just plug the oven in, with the socket switched off, it blows the MCB.
6. I have removed all other devices from this circuit, same result (so it's not overloaded).
7. If I plug the cooker in to any socket on this ring, I get the same result.
8. I have checked all sockets on the ring, all appear ok, no pinched wires etc.
9. To sum up, this cooker only does this, on one circuit, and nothing else on the circuit causes this.

Any ideas before I call a sparky in?

Cheers,

Andy

Sponsored Links
Incorrectly wired socket could be the problem. Has the socket been used for anything else other than the oven ?

Hi Bernard, yes the socket has been used for a lot of other appliances with no problem at all.

You say "32A plug"
What colour is it?

Or do you mean something else?

You also say it trips the MCB. And the RCD. Which is it?