Gasless Mig welding.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all, I have a SIP Mig welder not the best but does the job.

In the past I used Argoshield from BOC, but their £80 a year bottle rental made it too expensive for my limited use so took the bottle back, the little bottles (Halfords etc) seem poor value.

Was mulling over trying gasless wire and modifying the Mig to suit, I've never used gasless wire before and was wondering if anybody on here has and what were the results like?.

The welds will be mainly under the car, dressed and smoothed where needed.

Any input appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Only my opinion Keith but I'd stick with the genuine MIG....consider the likes of Hobbyweld (and others) for very reasonable cylinder supply.
For small tasks I use the throwaway canisters from Machine Mart but I also have a cylinder of BOC Argoshield (slightly warm) and when that goes its Hobbyweld for me.
I prefer an argon / CO2 mix of 80% 20% rather than pure argon - suits me better. If there's any wind I turn up the gas pressure and keep the wire moving fast.
Gasless MIG is ok for thicker stuff but I don't go near thin stuff with it - but my experience is rather limited! Stopping and starting wasn't nearly so easy compared with the gas MIG.
John :)

Cheers John, some food for thought.

Will have a look at Hobbyweld as well!.

Have you ever tried straight CO2?.

I have used the straight CO2 cylinders, but for me an argon mix seemed to work better - but I'm not really experienced enough to comment on why!
So long as the weld is shielded from the air should have the desired effect, I think. I find the argon mix deals with rust spots and other contamination a little better than CO2 but that could be a wild coincidence.
I have found though, the disposable cylinders do seem to leak a little.....some of mine were over a year old and when I tried to use them, there was nowt in :eek:

Sponsored Links