Getting the right toilet pan connector?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm a total newbie in this - sorry if it's really basic.

We've just had some tilers put tiles on our bathroom floor. They also put in a new toilet at the same time. But the guy told me that the existing pan connector was not tall enough to reach down properly (40mm) into the pipe below, so he had to buy a new one.

pan-connector.jpg

The new one seems to be a bit deeper than the old one, and hence the (new) toilet does not go back tight to the wall. We have an annoying gap with a piece of wood in there.

Should I just be able to buy a different pan connector, the same depth as the original one, but a few cm taller? Is there another valid reason he's put it in this way?

Thanks for any advice.

Sponsored Links
You can certainly get tighter bends than that one - Toolstation 20672 for example.
If thats not enough, swan neck ones are available too - 23824.
John :)

Sponsored Links
Thanks guys. I think the problem may be that the drop on the connector needs to be at least 320mm. Most of the ones I've looked at are about 300mm. Often hard to see sizes from the internet.

Went to Toolstation and the guy there suggested a flexible connector, would that be just as good?

Straight connector between old bend and old socket to extend it.
[/url]http://www.homebase.co.uk/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?langId=110&storeId=10151&partNumber=318241

Good question. But I think he thought he'd finished. The other guy was tiling, and this guy was just putting toilet back in, trimming doors, etc. Anyway, think I'm going to ask him to re-do it.

Does anyone know if those flexible pan connectors are OK? Seems like one of those would work.

Went to Toolstation and the guy there suggested a flexible connector, would that be just as good?[/quote]

Sorry, but it always makes me laugh when you read about people taking advice from the counter rats in places like Toolstation, Screwfix etc etc.