Glow Worm 100e combi problem

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi folks!

Just to let you know, I am not a heating/plumbing engineer, merely your average Joe with a boiler problem. However, I have been an IT engineer for nearly 20 years and I'm very handy on the electronics side of things (have a decent multimeter and good at diagnosing electronic faults and soldering).

Now with that out of the way, I'll explain the fault:

Ok, I have the above model boiler and about 3 weeks ago, it started behaving 'strangely'. First, the red light would keep coming on and I would lose all hot water (CH or DHW). After resetting it each time, the boiler would work ok again.. for a bit.

Eventually, it got worse and then one day, I could hear what sounded suspiciously like electronic relays actually buzzing behind the panel (am familiar with this sound) and the top green light flickering (for the hot water only) at the same time. As this happened, the boiler would get hot then cold then overheat and then OH cut-out would kick in.

So, I opened up the boiler and checked the pcb and discovered a black area. So I completely removed the pcb and discovered that the board was totally black due to over-heating of a zener diode and surrounding resistors - and underneath, major dry solder joints as a result of this.

So I immediately (and foolishly, as you'll find out in a minute) jumped to the conclusion that this was causing the problems. So I ordered a brand new pcb kit (new Honeywell pcb and thermistor) from ebay for only 89 quid, which I thought was a bargain!