Glow worm 30CXi

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there the masses,
My boiler has been gradually losing water pressure in the heating system over the past year which i believe is quite normal.
And have topped it up in the past via the filling valve ie the blue Knob, i'm a aircraft engineer and consider myself very competent with dealing with this problem, seeing as i put the boiler in myself and having it cleared by a corgi plumber.
But the fillng valve doesn't seen to be working??? can it be removed easily and repaired or replaced?
To me it all looks pretty simple but i don't wan't to go digging a big hole for myself.
Also in the boiler manual it doesn't give a part number for the valve? any idea's?
would be grateful for a response cheers.
rik.

Sponsored Links
Links in this post may contain affiliate links for which DIYnot may be compensated.
I have never taken them apart but its possibly the non return valve which is jammed closed rather than the valve itself.

You should be able to dismantle it carefully in a clean room environment.

I would dry and lubricate the rubber seals with silicone grease. Do they use that on a 737 ?

Tony

Ignore tony(just this once ;) ). the valve stem has almost certainly snapped.. Made of plastic. New one made of brass. Make sure you get a genuine NEW part, therefore new brass version :D

Sponsored Links
The part retails at less than 30 quid. Scatman has told you what to do - and It literally is... 5 minutes

Dave

Thanks guys,
Much appreciated.
You've been a great help!!!
I'd like to add a lot of people on here have said bad things about my boiler but i've had no problem with it until now, and the plumber I had comission it said it was a good unit!
Rik.

Thanks guys,
Much appreciated.
You've been a great help!!!
I'd like to add a lot of people on here have said bad things about my boiler but i've had no problem with it until now, and the plumber I had comission it said it was a good unit!
Rik.