Grundfos pump in halstead boiler ?

Joined
8 Jan 2010
Messages
33
Reaction score
0
Location
Kent
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,
I need to change a pump in a halstead ace high/(wickes) 102 combi boiler.

Does anyone know if I can get a compatible pump or even just the head rather than pay £148 for a halstead branded grundfos pump.

It seems crazy that i can get a standard UPS 15-60 130 grundfos pump for around 72 qiud but have to pay double for the halstead UP 15-60 130.

The only difference I can make out is that the UPS is 3 speed and the UP
I think is variable ????

Thanks in advance,

Jon.
yes I am a RGI - just not a very good one obviously!!! :rolleyes:
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
28 Oct 2005
Messages
13,795
Reaction score
3,369
Location
Daventry
Country
United Kingdom
Don't see why you shouldn't be able to just change the head although I'm not familiar with Halsteads so I can't comment on that specifically, I would have thought the body casting would be the same though. The thing to do, if you can, may be to purchase both, go to the job and attempt to fit the Grundfos one, if that doesn't fit then you've got the Halstead one to hand so you won't look like a complete cock if the Grundfos one doesn't fit. If the Grundfos one fits then return the Halstead one.

Incidentally if that's £72 ex VAT for a Grundfos you're being done, you can get them off the net for less than that inc vat and delivery
 
Joined
8 Jan 2010
Messages
33
Reaction score
0
Location
Kent
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks Muggles,

The pump heads are identical and the only differnce is the halstead one doesn't have the speed adjustment on the side.
£72 inclusive from local guy and save bother of delivery.

Might order the original as a stand by so its on the way if this doesn't work and I can cancel if things work out.

I can't believe the prices of some boiler parts and if you're in the know you can get the same part but at a fraction of the cost for different boilers. ie: diverter kits and diaphrams and £25 for a thermistor !!! It's a mine field for the unitiated!!
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
10 Mar 2005
Messages
3,512
Reaction score
86
Location
Middlesbrough
Country
United Kingdom
Pay your money and take your chance.
Various pump manufacturers do bespoke pumps for various boiler manufacturers.
eg biasi use a wilo pump on their m90 and m96 boilers, but a standard wilo head for 60 quid or whatever wont fit! You have to spend £150ish plus vat for their 'Biasi's own' version of the same pump.
My advice is to get a universal ideal head which fits normal and grundfos pumps and if that doesnt work use the Halstead one keeping the universal for another day. They are about £40 +vat so you should be able to stand taking one into stock
 
Joined
4 Oct 2011
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
No, you can't... The pump on the Halstead (which to the eye is essentially a standard Grundfos 15-60) has a variable speed, which the standard pump does not.

Re. Muggles' comment that you are being 'had'... Muggles, most engineers try to get the job done asap and do not wait to order through the internet. If you buy from a plumbers merchants (any problems it can be returned, you don't have to wait for late deliveries and you can be 100% sure it is not a re-conditioned part... There is a reason why they are cheaper on the net) that is actually a very good price, so you are not being 'had' at all.
 
D

DeltaT2

Hi All,
I need to change a pump in a halstead ace high/(wickes) 102 combi boiler.

Does anyone know if I can get a compatible pump or even just the head rather than pay £148 for a halstead branded grundfos pump.

It seems crazy that i can get a standard UPS 15-60 130 grundfos pump for around 72 qiud but have to pay double for the halstead UP 15-60 130.

The only difference I can make out is that the UPS is 3 speed and the UP
I think is variable ????

Thanks in advance,

Jon.
yes I am a RGI - just not a very good one obviously!!! :rolleyes:

Have you tried 'cleaning the can' on the circulation pump mate? These pumps are bullet proof!! A lot of times the fault is just the capacitor, which are readily available for a fraction of the pump price.
 
Joined
8 Jan 2010
Messages
33
Reaction score
0
Location
Kent
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks fellas,
This post is a year and a half old now.
Ended up replacing pump with manufacturers part at customers expense,
couldn't deal with going back again if things didn't work out.

You try and save money for customers and it ends up costing you your time and money and then if there's a problem they don't care they just want it fixed - so now for me its fix it like for like and out the door.

As it turns out I think it was the capacitor but a filthy system led me to believe it better to replace the pump and probably again in the years to come.

The end.

Jon.
 

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

 
Sponsored Links
Top