GSM Wireless Alarm Advice - Pyronix / Visonic

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm looking at fitting a new alarm to my home and looking at either a Pyronix or Visonic, preferably with a GSM module, as i don't always have broadband/landline.

Is there a great difference in quality between these two brands?

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
OK these alarms go head to head......PYR is easier to fit, its also made in UK.

PYR actually do a designated GSM kit

Last edited by a moderator:
Someone one here will be able to clarify (or shoot me down in flames if I'm completely wrong) as I am no expert like most people on here, but as I understand it you can also get a GSM auto dialler as an addition to what ever alarm you choose, which monitors the bell and alarm status. If the alarm is triggered it sends out SMS/calls you. Seemed like a good cheap option if the wifi/broadband goes down.

Something like this perhaps...http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/GSM-Auto-...hash=item33cd705e60:m:mUh22L3vVHCR7jZhxkKTbsQ

Links in this post may contain affiliate links for which DIYnot may be compensated.
Only problem with aftermarket Gsm units is .you only get a alarm text , the dedicated unit for your alarm gives much more information ..e.g. Front door ! , hallway ! Bell tamper and so on..

Sponsored Links
ahh..thats useful to know thanks. A good reason to pay a little more for the GSM unit.

ahh..thats useful to know thanks. A good reason to pay a little more for the GSM unit.
on the flip side the Ebay one you linked to is also a voice dialler that will ring a list of numbers until you answer and confirm the call, its very easy to miss an alarm text, its harder to miss an alarm voice call. A properly installed and maintained alarm shouldn't false alarm so if your alarm is sounding it doesn't really matter to you what zone it is until you visit the site, a domestic alarm activation should be a priority to you regardless of what a dedicated GSM unit may text you.

DIYnot Local

Staff member