Has my boiler been installed correctly?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I had a new boiler fitted today (Vaillant, heat only, open vent, 2 x two port valves) to replace an ageing boiler which had a couple of issues. It has been installed by a Vaillant accredited, Gas Safe registered installer. However I'm not sure it's been installed correctly for two reasons:

1. One change was that my new boiler requires a pump-overrun. He ran a new permanent live to boiler to facilitate this and the pump is definitely overrunning exactly when it should. HOWEVER, the central heating valve currently closes the second the thermostat shuts off. This doesn't seem right to me as it means that if the hot water is also off, the pump is pushing against two closed valves, which makes it much louder and sometimes vibrates the surrounding pipework (probably enough to wake us up!). I'm not a heating engineer, but it seems wrong/pointless for the pump to be on if both valves are closed. This will mean there is a very high pressure on the 'flow' side of the pump. There is surely no point in pump overrun unless the overrun causes the water to flow through the system (and boiler). Presumably the valve should remain open until the pump has shut off? Am I right in assuming it's not correctly wired?