1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

HDMI to VGA... sort of

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by Johnboy54, 19 Nov 2015.

  1. Johnboy54

    Johnboy54

    Joined:
    24 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    316
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi.
    I've got a projector in my man-cave.
    I connect my Virgin HD box via an HDFury2 with an HDMI input and VGA cable output to the projector.
    Everything fine, my HD ready projector now plays HD video.
    Last week I bought a £22 HDMI player from ebay.
    Plug a USB stick in with any format video on and it plays.
    In the house... not the cave.
    The Fury doesn't cope with the player and I get no picture.
    I wrote to the Fury forum.

    My question to them was -
    Could I buy a VGA to VGA short cable, but split with an HDMI so I can plug my player in, bypassing the Fury which I'd just leave switched off.
    Mod said it was not possible to go from VGA to HDMI.
    He said I needed to buy a £65 Dr HDMI converter from them.
    Looking on Google, the adapters can be bought anywhere for VGA to HDMI.
    So... would one work, or are they a con?
    I'll be a happy bunny if they do work and try searching for a splitter type.
    Many thanks.
    John
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Lucid

    Lucid

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2013
    Messages:
    1,673
    Thanks Received:
    966
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There's no piece of wire or gender changing plug that can convert the digital signal of HDMI to the analogue format required by a VGA input. There has to be a circuit to act as an interpreter between the two. I have seen active cables with the conversion electronics built in, but those were the price of a Fury so it was obvious from cost and to some degree the size of the plug bodies that this wasn't just an ordinary cable. As for the cheap cables online, yep, they're a con. There are some Chinese karaoke machines that have hacked the HDMI output circuits so that they can route VGA or HDMI via the one output. That's what the adapter cables are for. They won't magically convert HDMI to VGA. Everyone who has bought one expecting that to work and thinking they got so.e kind of amazing bargain has been disappointed.
     
  4. ibruceuk

    ibruceuk

    Joined:
    11 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    185
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have to disagree actually.

    I use a cheap chinese one (£9) to convert my laptops HDMI out to VGA for the classroom projector. Yes it gets warm but it works fine.
     
  5. Sam Gangee

    Sam Gangee

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    1,875
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. Johnboy54

    Johnboy54

    Joined:
    24 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    316
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the replies.
    However...
    I was looking at my 12 month old box in the house when I asked.
    The new one has a VGA output as well as all other outputs!
    So, problem solved.
    Thanks again.
    John
     
  8. fixo

    fixo

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So the projector doesn't have an HDMI in? Or isn't HDCP compliant? Just wondering why the Fury is required here and not using HDMI direct from source devices to projector..
     
  9. Johnboy54

    Johnboy54

    Joined:
    24 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    316
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi. The projector is about 11 years old, and still going strong.
    However, it's only HD ready.
    It only has VGA and S Video inputs.
    Just sticking my Virgin HD box into a VGA adapter wouldn't give me HD out of the projector.
    I can't remember all the details, but I looked into it a few years ago, and found I needed to convert the signal to get HD.
    (No idea why now, but it made sense at the time.)
    The HDFury2 was the answer, and gives a perfect HD picture.
    Regards,
    John
     
  10. fixo

    fixo

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yea the HDFury devices strip HDCP from the signal and can send the signal to a VGA output. The virgin box would be expecting an HDCP compliant display on the other end of the HDMI cable which is what the HDFury is pretending to be.
    So you've got two digital sources, and one analog display. But one of the sources (the media player) isn't being converted through the HDFury?
    On buying an HDMI to VGA converter, if the media player is using HDCP as well then the converter won't help as it isn't seeing an HDCP compliant display at the other end and will shutdown the output. The HDFury would be the solution there too if that's the case but that's what you're saying isn't working. Have you tried setting the output resolution (and refresh rate if it gives you the option) of the media player to the same as the virgin box? Just in case the media player is feeding the HDFury something it can't handle..?
     
  11. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page