Heatslave 25/32 CH too hot

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Just moved in.

Have a Heatslave 25/32.

Even with the CH temperature dial on the boiler set all the way down, the radiators are just too hot. I have had to turn down a lot of the TRVs on the rads, and even then the house just gets sweltering. This is a detached cottage on a hill and to be honest this is the opposite of what I was expecting.. I thought it might be too cold! I'm just concerned that we are not being efficient with our oil usage and I'd like to start by having the CH just as warm as it needs to be.

Any ideas?

Sponsored Links
Possibly a broken boiler thermostat, or if it's a combi the diverter might be passing. Do your radiators get hot even with the heating turned off?

Possibly a broken boiler thermostat, or if it's a combi the diverter might be passing. Do your radiators get hot even with the heating turned off?

I'm not sure on the diverter. I will check. I have some experience of broken diverter valves, from the Vokera Linea 24 at my old house. This does seem like the thermostat or thermistor (whatever the boiler has) problem, or possibly some kind of burner calibration thing maybe? It was recently serviced or repaired, less than a month before we bought the house. The service history makes me think these things are less reliable than my 20yr old Vokera was. I could fix that myself too.

The heatslave is an oil fired combi. It has an inbuilt storage tank for the HW side so that you get quicker and hotter instant hot water, but even if the HW has been turned off, you still get instant-ish hot water, it's just not super hot, and not super instant. Good enough for a shower though.

How would a dodgy diverter valve cause the radiators to be too hot, unless we were running the taps or filling a bath or something? That's not the case here. The temperature just can't be turned down enough from the boiler.