Help designing Hinged shelve 4 racing cockpit fold up wheel.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Basically i have a steering wheel which connects to my PC. I attach it too my desk using the clamps on the steering wheel but the cables are everywhere and its in the way of the keyboard. its awkward and annoying to have to move it around.
Therefore i have decided to Fasten the Steering wheel ann Gearstick to a shelve. :p

my idea is that the shelve sticks on a hinge kind of thing underneathe the desk. and when its not being used i can fold it down sorta thing under the desk away from my legs.
When it is being used ofc i can flip it out from underneathe the desk.

So far i have managed to get a nice chunk of wood (from a Shelf :p) and sawn it down to the right size.

My problem is that i dont know what kind of equipment il need, as the hinge needs to be able to lock at the positions (under the desk or Out at the right level.)
im not very experienced, infact im 15. I am determined to get this working as itl look so cool. And be so useful.
Any tips, help would be very appreciated.

Here i have provided quite a few pictures to help (sorry about the really flawless pic quality :mad: )

Overall look:
spa0504dj9.jpg

A bit closer:
spa0511pl9.jpg

Under the desk:
spa0512wq7.jpg

More:
spa0513nv8.jpg

Last on desk:
spa0514kr5.jpg

The following photos are of the shelf i sawn, with the steering wheel attached to it.

Full view:
spa0505cc9.jpg

More:
spa0506ls3.jpg

Last:
spa0508qy7.jpg

I think you get the idea ;)
well i spent quite alot of time making this post, and i tried my best to be as informative as i can, i dont think theres a point in telling measurements. cus my putting that means i want you to the math for me.

Thatl do.
luke.

Sponsored Links
Have you checked that you'll actually have leg room under there, I can see it getting in the way of your knees, which will soon become an annoyance and might end up damaging it.