1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Help installing a nest device

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by David Murphy, 8 Nov 2016.

Tags:
  1. David Murphy

    David Murphy

    Joined:
    8 Nov 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG] Hi there. I am to install my nest device tonight and just need to clarify that
    Nest 1 = CH Off
    Nest 3 = CH On
    Nest 4 = HW Off
    Nest 6= HW On

    Also wondering if my current set up has two wires per terminal should that mean I should also have two wires per terminal in the nest devise.

    Any help much appreciated
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,105
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Whatever cables are in teh existing thermostat need to go to the Nest.

    So, if there are two wires on the CH ON terminal on the existing, you need to move those two to the heating call for heat.

    note that your existing stat has the live feed in connected up internally. you will need to add a couple of wires to connect the live to the two common terminals on the nest.
     
  4. David Murphy

    David Murphy

    Joined:
    8 Nov 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the reply.
    So should I use the CH Off And HW Off also as some say they are not needed?
     
  5. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,105
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If your existing stat sends hw and ch satisfied signals then I rather expect your heating plan will also need them from the Nest too!
     
  6. David Murphy

    David Murphy

    Joined:
    8 Nov 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Great Ill wire the off wires to the satisfied terminals. Thanks for all the help
     
  7. roasty

    roasty

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2012
    Messages:
    74
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Bristol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    David,

    Couple of points,
    1) as already stated, your current programmer has the common terminals already connected to live, you'll need to jumper these yourself on the nest
    2) The numbering betwixt nest and your programmer is slightly different. Programmer terminal 1 is nest terminal 4, programmer 2 is nest 1, programmer 3 is nest 6 and programmer 4 is nest 3. You need to connect nest 2 & 5 to live.
    3) The nest is hugely annoying, each terminal has room for 1 wire maximum, most of yours will need to fit two and the live terminal will have three in it. You'll struggle here, if I were you, I'd use a single socket box or similar to do the terminations into choc bloc type connectors, and then mount the nest receiver on top of that, you'll NEVER get all the wires you want into the nest unit.
    4) if you have a room stat (I presume you do as it looks from the wiring that you have the honeywell Y plan with a 3port mid position motorised valve) you'll want to bridge it out, or else it'll be in series with the nest heating supply and will confuse matters somewhat. Some (most) roomstats have three wires (one is a neutral for the hysteresis heater) and so you'll need to locate which two are the switch contacts and connect them together.
    5) you can actually power the nest using the existing roomstat cabling, but you need to (obviously!!) disconnect the mains supply to it, you then use the T1 and T2 terminals on the nest receiver to send power to the nest. Otherwise you need to plug into a socket with the supplied micro usb lead (which can look unattractive if you wall mount it)


    Good luck. The nest is a great bit of kit, but the wiring arrangements are poorly thought out in my opinion, screw terminals like on your old school programmer are much nicer to work with.

    Hope this helps
    Dan
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  9. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page