Help setting up FTP access using a NAS, Router and Modem.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,
I am a newbie to home networking, and seeking some advice/help.

I have a Smartdisk SOHO NAS drive, that is currently attached to my Belkin Wireless Router F5D7230 v4 UK via the LAN port.

The Belkin Router is connected to my Talk Talk standard issue modem - SmartAX MT882. It is an ADSL modem connected via PPPoA.

There are no connection problems when accessing the internet wirelessly or wired and i have security enabled for the wireless. My main computer connects using wired connection.

I would like to use the NAS's capability to access it from outside the home network using FTP, but just cannot figure out the correct settings and/or way to do it.

I have registered with www.DynDns.com and created an account.
I have their software running and it updates the account when the IP changes.

From reading on the internet and the instruction manuals i understand i have to set up port forwarding, but i am struggling to do it correctly.

I have a firewall in my modem as well as in the router; should i turn one of these off?

When connecting from an outside source using the DynDns address, i am typing ftp://???????.???????.org
Am i correct or should i leave off the ftp://
Also when connecting from outside, i get a connection 110 error and saying the connection timed out.

I am sure i am half way to getting this solved, but just don't understand what i really should be doing....

Does anyone have any experience with the equipment i am using or with what i am trying to achieve, and could possibly point me in the right directions....

Any help would be appreciated....
Thank you.

Sponsored Links
I have registered with www.DynDns.com and created an account.
I have their software running and it updates the account when the IP changes.

Tim, I think he's got that covered.