Hi i need a little advice please.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys

Im no expert in buildings but I've been trusting my builder a bit too much,

So story is we were originally removing the wall in middle of our livingroom ( partition wall) and before that he said it will need a steel Beam, so we agreed on price.

Once removed he now says that it doesn't need steel Beam as Timber Joist will do the job. As adding steel may pull the weight down of the building.

There is wall above the livingroom wall but is 1 foot away, so not directly on top.

the building is 1930s.
Screenshot_20231213_204205_Gallery.jpg

Could someone kindly please tell me if timber joists are strong?

Screenshot_20231213_185854_Samsung Internet.jpg

Sponsored Links
Trying to work out what’s going on in the pic, doesn’t even look like a decent timber beam, more like some 4x3 laid flat like a wall plate with a bad splice joint and a big gap. Doesn’t look good to me. are building control involved?

Find out which way the bedroom floor joists are running, or the floorboards in both bedrooms, and post back

Find out which way the bedroom floor joists are running, or the floorboards in both bedrooms, and post back
Hi

Thanks for your reply

I can see the floorboards are like this. Sorry about the messy drawing.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20231214_182208_Photo Editor.jpg
    Screenshot_20231214_182208_Photo Editor.jpg
    78.4 KB · Views: 39
Sponsored Links
Hi

Thanks for your reply

I can see the floorboards are like this. Sorry about the messy drawing.
If the floorboards are perpendicular to the wall in question, then the joists go in the opposite direction, i.e. do not land on the removed wall.

From your sketch it looks like the upstairs floor joists are perpendicular to the removed wall.
In that case it's likely that the wall is (was) supporting the joists.
Get building control involved.
What do structural engineer calculations say?