1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Hive single channel receiver install - help!!

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Jimmy78x, 24 Nov 2019.

Tags:
  1. Jimmy78x

    Jimmy78x

    Joined:
    24 Nov 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Good morning all

    Hoping someone can help.

    I have purchased a hive package for combi boilers so a single channel receiver.

    The receiver is to replace a Siemens RDJ10 thermostat and programmer (pictured front and back plate.)

    It appeared to be wired (with 3core flex plus earth cable - see picture) using a 2 wire installation connecting the brown (live) to the Lx terminal and the Black (switched) to the L1 terminal. Grey (neutral had been capped), so too earth.

    I have wired it into the receiver as per the pic, but there is no life in the receiver when I flick the isolation switch back on and power up the boiler.

    Thought this would be a straightforward job - but it is not proving so. Any insight hugely appreciated.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. LearningSpark

    LearningSpark

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need to trace where they grey conductor comes from, if it wasn't connected there it may not be connected at the other end.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    19,646
    Thanks Received:
    7,652
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Agree find where the grey wire was at the other end of the cable
     
  5. fezster

    fezster

    Joined:
    30 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    507
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Which boiler do you have?

    The Siemens RDJ10 install manual shows that LX and L1 are volt free contacts.


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The hive will require N and L - so get a multimeter out and check the grey and brown wires for permanent live. Chances are, the grey is not connected at all.

    If you have N and L, and your boiler uses 230V switching, then you create a link from L to Common and your Black wire goes to 3 (Heating on).

    If your boiler does not use 230V switching, then your hive will require N and L, and your brown should go to 1 and your black to 3.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  6. Jimmy78x

    Jimmy78x

    Joined:
    24 Nov 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you for this. The boiler is a Gloworm ultracom2 35cxi
     
  7. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    9,237
    Thanks Received:
    1,785
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That boiler has both 230V and 24V options.
    You will need to establish where the wires are connected at the boiler. Guessing may result in damage to the boiler.

    The receiver unit is typically located next to the boiler, not where the old thermostat was.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    17,093
    Thanks Received:
    1,560
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nest e does not need 230 volt supply, easy way is swap Hive for Nest e.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  10. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page