Hive to Vokera Easi Heat + C combi boiler wiring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone,

Another Hive thread...

So I'm trying to connect a Hive thermostat to my boiler Vokera easi heat plus. Two plumbers already let me down as none of them felt confident to succeed. So be it, I'll do it myself, with your help...

Here is my homemade diagram and pictures.
I'm thinking to connect a 5 core flex wire from the Hive receiver to the boiler PCB and power
N : connect to Neutral in the boiler
L : connect to Live in the boiler
E : Does the Earth needs to connect to the boiler ?
1 : connect directly on CN5 in the boiler
3 : connect directly on CN5 in the boiler

I have many questions (and I'm not an electrician...) :
- If I connect the receiver L, N and E in the boiler, that'll double the LNE connections, right ? Is that a problem ?
- If my receiver cables go directly in CN5, what do I do with the previously light blue wires (x2) linked to CN5 ?
- The black wire from CN5, I decided to leave it as it is... Correct ?
- Any chance I blow up my boiler doing that ?

upload_2021-2-4_12-34-48.png

upload_2021-2-4_12-35-20.png

upload_2021-2-4_12-36-5.png

upload_2021-2-4_12-36-25.png

Thank you and hope we can solve that !

Sponsored Links
Your diagram shows M2 as connection to thermostat which does seem together with on/off switch to bridge CN5 but would it not be easier to use M2? Since the wall thermostat has volt free contacts it does not really matter where it gets power from, but from the same supply as boiler is normal, an earth wire should be used but does not need to be connected with class II equipment, it just needs to be there for future use.

yes that is correct, you can connect the Earth if you want but it serves no purpose, take note though that the colours of the wires in your diagram for L&N are the wrong way round, dont mix them up

Yes thanks Ian, good spot on the colors. Corrected now
I'll leave the earth unconnected then.