Hot Tub plan

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi people, stupidly bought a hot tub on a whim and would appreciate some advice.
Firstly I’m not an electrician, done quite a bit of domestic back in the day, but know my limitations and don’t intend to do any final tests or connections that’s for the pro`s, so please don’t bombard me with part P regs etc.
I`m happy to do all the donkey work, so just asking for a bit of advice on my plan of attack.
Hot tub has max rating 32a, is on a flag base about 23meter total from the house, and around 10 meter from the garage.
House is TNS; garage already has a 63a RCD mini cu fitted.
My plan is using 6mm swa running off a spare 32a MCB on the main cu.
Unit is plastic and a bit flimsy, so planning a metal junction box fitted next to the cu,
gland off the swa at this box and run the wires direct to the MCB, with a return earth to the gland.
Can`t sink the armour as path is set flagstone so going conduit, saddled to the wall for 13m to the CU in the garage, then sink the last 10 m of cable to hot tub.
Does that sound reasonable?
Would I need to fit a rotary isolator as well? Just thinking more connections, more drop etc, and as it would be inside the garage feet from the cu it seems overkill to me, but do the regs demand?
Also would there be any benefit/drawback to dropping a rod at the tub end and extending the existing earth wire, from the tub terminal through to that as well? Or is that going o-TT (';)')

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated

Sponsored Links
please don’t bombard me with part P regs etc.
Hopefully you won't regard this as "bombarding":

You cannot (legally) ignore Part P - everything you or anyone else does must comply with it.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated
You need to decide what you are going to do about the requirement for Building Regulations approval for this - nobody here can give you any advice on that apart from "this work is notifiable, so it must be notified).