Hot Water & Central Heating to Loft Conversion

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, first time poster. Thanks for taking the time to read this.

I am currently planning my loft conversion for my 3 bed semi. Im pretty well sorted with the layout and struc design (i'm a civil/structural designer)

What im not so up on is the plumbing side of things.

Currently i have a boiler providing hot water and heating to my house, the boiler has a hot water cylinder at first floor level and a cold water storage and an expansion tank in the loft.

I know that if i replaced this with a condesing combi boiler then i could get rid of the tanks, but i have a power shower in my main bathroom so this is a no go.

the cold water tanks im planning on putting in the peak of the roof, above the proposed loft ceiling.

I also know that i wont be able to provide radiators in the loft due to them being above the hot water cylinder, is this the same for the hot water supply for my proposed ensuite? will i have problems with water pressure?

Could anyone give me any guidance as to what modifications my system will require to give me what i want, a heated loft with running hot water.

I appreciate any advice.

I was considering electric underfloor heating to solve that side of things.

Sponsored Links
Duffy, is your heating system pumped?? If so as long as the F&E is above the rads in the loft conversion i see no reason why you can't fit them in.

Also, why not consider a combi? A well spec'ed one with adequate pressure and flow on mains will come close to a power shower ie it will be pretty powerful.

thanks for the quick reply powell,

yes my system is pumped, are you saying as long as the feeder and expansion tanks are above the rads and new ensuite then i will be ok?

i assumed the hot water cylinder would also have to be above the rads and ensuite????