House conversion to flats, 4 year rule & continuous use

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
I have some experience of the planning system and have obtained lawful development certificates in the past to confirm the lawfulness of the planning status of a building. However, I currently have a situation I have not seen before with regards to the 4 year rule and the concept of "continuous use" so thought I would reach out here and see if anyone has any experience of it as I have seen some good advice on threads on this site over the last few years.

Background - we have a residential building that was converted from one large residential house into 6 residential flats around 8 years ago. We have good evidence of the existence of these 6 flats going back at least 8 years e.g. tenancy agreements, council tax bills and utility bills for each flat. We are therefore interested in confirming the legal planning status of these flats with a lawful development certificate using the "4 year rule". However, there are periods during the last 2 years when one of the more of the flats were either:
1. vacant (for up to 9 months in one case); or
2. let on a short term basis with Airbnb (for up to 6 months).

Therefore all 6 flats do have periods of 4 years where we can demonstrate they were in continuous use and occupied as a residential flat, however, it is not necessarily the most recent 4 years eg for one flat we can demonstrate continuous use from 2012 to 2016, but not from 2016 to the present when it has had periods when it is empty.