How do I install a new ground floor Newel post into a concrete floor?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I'm a newbie and have signed on to DIY-not to ask for help in installing a Newel-post into a concrete ground floor.

I've not long bought a house (about 45 years old) and I have started making some substantial changes. Originally the front door opened onto a very small hallway with the stairs in front of you and the lounge door on your right. You walked through the lounge/dinning room to get to the kitchen. I didn't like this so I've installed a new wall to create a larger hallway that give direct access to the lounge/dinner and also to the kitchen and I've removed the old partition wall that was between the stairs and lounge; I will need to strengthen the stairs and build a new Bannister.

The problem is I have no idea how Newel posts are originally installed in concrete ground floors.

I've searched the internet and though I can find many products for installing Newel posts in exiting properties (all rely on brackets or bolts and seem a bit flaky to me), but none say how they are originally installed.

It will need to be very firm with no support on three sides so, I would think it will need to be sunk into the concrete floor, but by how much and what about the damp proof membrane?
I know from other work that the damp proof membrane is about 10cm down (max.) and the floor has no heat insulation layer (built in the early eighties).
But it's likely I would need to sink the post more that 10cm for stability, so how can I ensure good damp proofing.

Is they somebody with experience of installing stairs in new properties who can advise me?

Thanks

Sponsored Links