1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

how to connect a Hive

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by ak_akhan, 1 Nov 2017.

  1. ak_akhan

    ak_akhan

    Joined:
    1 Nov 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have got hive1 and it has been wired wrong, my central heating won't turn on through the thermostat, spoke to the engineer and he said a wire needs swapping, can someone please help which wire I need to swap. Currently I turn on heating manually through the boiler itself. i have got Vaillant ecotech pro 30.
    IMG_0687.JPG
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've been known to shout at the TV, and the radio.

    Never felt the urge to shout at my CH controls though....
     
  4. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,620
    Thanks Received:
    1,538
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi ak_akhan and welcome to the forum. You should really have posted your own new thread with your question. Adding your question to someone else's thread is known as 'hijacking' and is against the forum rules.

    However, you should have the single channel Hive like this....

    hive.JPG

    And the wiring for your boiler should resemble this...

    Capture.JPG

    The Live and Neutral supply from a 3A fused connection should be wired directly to Live and Neutral terminals at the boiler (X1 set of terminals L and N) and also go to the Hive, Live and Neutral terminals.

    Then the wire link shown between the terminals marked "24 V DC room thermostat" (X106 set of terminals) should be removed, and where it came from; one of the terminals should be connected to the Hive 1 'Common' and the other terminal connected to the Hive 3 'Heating on'. It doesn't matter which goes to which.

    If getting to the wiring terminals on your particular boiler means accessing the room sealed part of it, and I suspect that it may do, then you should get your Gas safe engineer to do that bit.
     
    Last edited: 1 Nov 2017
    • Like Like x 1
  5. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What on earth is the sense of designing a boiler that way?
     
  6. ak_akhan

    ak_akhan

    Joined:
    1 Nov 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for moving my post to the right place and for the detailed reply, I am not very technical but what I understood so far is to move the grey wire from 2 to 3 on the receiver.
    Can you please confirm if that’s right, just want to make sure I don’t do something which will blow my boiler.
    The Engineer who installed my boiler keeps delaying to rectify his mistake and that’s why I just want to do this myself.
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,620
    Thanks Received:
    1,538
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, but only if the other ends of the wires are connected to the "24 V DC room thermostat" terminals and the original link between them removed. as per my first post. Don't assume that this is the case, as there are several different ways to link boilers and thermostats. Please check with the person that installed the wires and find out where the other ends go.

    In any case there shouldn't be a wire connected to the Hive Terminal 2 'Heating off' If a professional did that he's incompetent that is a basic error. Fortunately it won't have damaged the boiler or the Hive, it just won't work.
    I think there may well be a legal issue if that's the case. Tell him you will contact trading standards and Gas Safe.
     
  9. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,620
    Thanks Received:
    1,538
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Indeed, as not many electricians are gas safe registered, it makes things a bit tricky.
     
  10. ak_akhan

    ak_akhan

    Joined:
    1 Nov 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for your help, it was a gas safe engineer who installed my boiler, I called him many times and he keeps making excuses, been a month now. That’s why I want to sort this myself now. Will update you how it goes.
     
  11. ak_akhan

    ak_akhan

    Joined:
    1 Nov 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Tried just swapping the thermostat wire and it started working, thanks for your help Stem.
     
  12. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page