1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

How to fit a 3 wire thermostat on an existing 5 wire installation?

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by ottosump, 27 Dec 2019.

  1. ottosump

    ottosump

    Joined:
    28 Aug 2008
    Messages:
    271
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    20191223_161659.jpg 20191223_161712.jpg 20191223_161716.jpg ae235.jpg Hi group, hope everyone is enjoying their Christmas time...

    I am trying to fit a standard 3 wire thermostat to a boiler which has had a previous 5 wire installation, long story but the previous tenant has taken their thermostat with them and now I'm statless!

    Can any body advise is this can be done?
    I've included pictures of the thermostat I am considering buying (DRAYTON RTS1 ROOM THERMOSTAT)
    and the wiring.
    TIA group
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    70,963
    Thanks Received:
    4,019
    Location:
    Crossgates
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    Are you the owner? Or a tenant?

    You have to identify what all the existing wires do. A multimeter will be invaluable.

    I expect you have a Permanent Live and a Permanent Neutral and an earth.

    One of the others will be a Switched Live that set the CH running. However it's possible that two of them are for low-voltage switching. Do you have any idea what the old programmer/timer looked like? You have the option of getting your solicitor to write a stiff letter demanding the return or reinstatement of a Fitting that was included in the House Sale and was wrongly removed by the vendor, or monetary compensation.

    I don't know what the other one will be, unless there was once a cooling/air conditioning circuit. Probably unused. Looking at the copper ends, do any of them look as if they have never been tightened in a terminal?

    You might consider chasing out the wall to take a metal backbox, it will be easier to accomodate your wires behind the stat without being tempted to cut them short.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  4. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    6,523
    Thanks Received:
    1,715
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need to know which is the call for heat wire, and assuming they’re all as they are (you may need to test the wires):

    Line (Brown) to L on Drayton
    Neutral to N on Drayton
    Call for heat (grey or black) in 3 on Drayton
    Park earth in designated terminal or into a connector block.

    Whichever is not the call for heat (grey or black) can be safely terminated into a connector block.

    Might be better with a Honeywell T6360?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. ottosump

    ottosump

    Joined:
    28 Aug 2008
    Messages:
    271
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the prompt reply, why do you think the Honeywell T6360 would be better, looks as though they do the same thing.
    Regards Otto, West Cumbria
     
  6. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    6,523
    Thanks Received:
    1,715
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think they’re smaller in size, and possibly more terminals, however this might confuse anyone else who works on the system, so better with the others in a terminal block, and go for either thermostat.
     
  7. snb

    snb

    Joined:
    10 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    3,022
    Thanks Received:
    842
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why on earth would you be trying to fit a thermostat below a boiler?
    That wiring was in a RF thermostat receiver box.
    That’s what you should be putting back in .
    Get a center brand one from plumb center. About £70 inc vat and wire in. The actual stat can then be in either the lounge or a more sensible place.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  9. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page