How to level my fireplace?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there!
I am relatively new to DIY and would appreciate some advice on how to level my fireplace.

Currently the fireplace is lower than the floorboard (up to 3cm) , and I am planning to fill it with self levelling concrete/ compound to bring to the same level. However, I am not sure how I should seal off the floorboard edges to protect from self levelling concrete? If you look closer at the photo below, there are two layers of floorboard (original and new) and they are not completely even. I thought about using a trim but not sure if it will work if the layers of the floorboard is sticking out at different height. How should I seal the edge of the floorboard in my case?

Any advice would be super helpful.

Attachments

• F5CF98FF-D03C-4A57-A4CA-70AD55C51D67.jpeg
    F5CF98FF-D03C-4A57-A4CA-70AD55C51D67.jpeg
    478 KB · Views: 46
Sponsored Links
Is the fire in use?

I see the stone slab is sunken and cracked. Your new screed will crack if placed on it.

Is it on the ground floor?

Is the floor wooden, with a ventilated void under it?

Is there anything to prevent you lifting a floorboard?

Do you assert that it is the wooden floor that is truly level and the fireplace stone is not? I ask because it looks like the planks that are cut ramp down towards the wall

Is the fire in use?

I see the stone slab is sunken and cracked. Your new screed will crack if placed on it.

Is it on the ground floor?

Is the floor wooden, with a ventilated void under it?

Is there anything to prevent you lifting a floorboard?
Fireplace is not in used currently. The plan is to level the fireplace with the floorboard so I can place a fireplace hearth and install a wood burning stove. Do you think I need to dig up the whole stone slab?