1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

How to turn on a wall socket from an infra-red beam?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by howardino, 1 Jul 2013.

  1. howardino

    howardino

    Joined:
    22 Dec 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi guys,

    I would like to get some infra-red beams for front driveway security.
    I would like these IR beams when tripped to turn on a wall socket. The IR beams product info say they have have a NO/NC type relay output.

    Is it possible to take this NO/NC relay output and turn on a wall socket?

    Apologies for my limited knowledge in these matters.

    Your help very much appreciated.
    Thanks.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1 set of each?


    Dunno. What voltage and current are the contacts rated at?

    What supply do the IR transmitter & receiver use? How will you get it there?

    Is there a height you can put it at where it won't be triggered by wildlife but won't be high enough for people to crawl under?

    Is the output latching, or will the socket only be on whilst the beam is broken?

    Is the socket to be inside or out?

    What distances are involved?

    Is a socket the best way to connect whatever you want to come on when the beam is broken?
     
  4. howardino

    howardino

    Joined:
    22 Dec 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,
    thx for the quick reply.
    I've not settled on any particular IR beam product as yet.
    Taking the gjd IR beam spec, they use form C relay and NC for tamper switch. (I've never messed around with relays so know very little about them.)

    So looks like the relay output is 30V 0.5A.
    The input supply 12-24v dc.
    I have cctv cameras around the house powered by 12v supplies, so will just run another 12v supply.
    I aim to put a couple of these in, a pair at the bottom of the drive which is 17m from the house.
    I will have to hide them somehow, so its not obvious.
    The socket will be inside the house.
    The idea is the when IR beam is tripped the socket will turn on the lcd monitor which will be showing cctv pictures.
    The socket will then need to turn off after a pre-set time e.g. 30 secs.


    The spec is below:
    Model GJD940 GJD960
    Detection Method Infra-red photoelectronic
    Range
    Outdoor 60m 100m
    Indoor 180m 300m
    Beam Characteristics Pulsed infra-red dual beams
    Interruption Period 50-700msec (selectable)
    Power Input 12-24 VDC / 11-18 VAC
    Current Consumption 55mA max 65mA max
    Alarm Period 2 seconds (±1) nominal
    Alarm Output Form C relay (AC/DC30V 0.5A max)
    Tamper Switch Normally Closed. Opens when cover
    is removed (receiver only)
    Operating Temp. -25°C - +55°C
    Environment Humidity 95% max
    Alignment Angle Horizontal ±90°, Vertical ±10°
    Mounting Wall or pole[/img]
     
  5. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    25,557
    Thanks Received:
    2,549
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Beams are the best type of detection as they are less prone to false triiggering.

    They need a 12 volt DC power supply and a slave relay or contactor with a 12 volt coil and 230 volt contacts. This relay is controlled by the contacts of the relay in the beam receiver. This keeps the 230 volt away from the beam units.

    This is the power supply unit and slave relay for my beam sensor bothe mounted on a DIN rail.. The relay is switching 12 volt circuits to a computor so is not enclosed.


    ( Work in progress so not the final assembly which will be enclosed as yours should be due to the 230 volt.)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. howardino

    howardino

    Joined:
    22 Dec 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I figured I'd add beams to the mix, I currently have an external wireless pir which triggers the wall socket (a complete product). Nice and easy setup. 95% it works great, but is prone to false triggering now and then, sometimes chronic failure on a nice summer morning - but then other summer mornings perfectly fine.

    I think I follow your post. So you take the relay output from the beams and feed it into this slave relay. You then feed the output of this slave relay into the power supply which can turn on 230v. From the pic, it shows you have the mains wire going in at the top of the power supply, the slave relay feed comes in at the bottom, how would I wire up the monitor to this?

    I'm not sure if a simpleton like me could set up something like this. Is there a simple product that I could buy that would simply take the relay wire in and I could just plug in the monitor? :) would have thought there would be devices like this about. If not, what are the parts called that I need and I'd prob get spark in to wire it up.

    thx.
     
  7. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'd advise getting a professional alarm company to do it all for you.
     
  8. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    48,114
    Thanks Received:
    3,136
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Unless/until (if used outside) it gets windy when there are things (like leaves) to get blown around, or if there are birds, or whatever! I only once tried an IR beam outdoors, and I soon gave it up! However, others' experiences may differ from mine.

    Kind Regards, John.
     
  9. seasickstevie

    seasickstevie

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    1,568
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you use a twin-beam system, it's unlikely that a leaf or possibly even a bird would trigger it.

    But an intruder obviously will.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    48,114
    Thanks Received:
    3,136
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't think that what I had (it was a lomg time ago) was that sophisticated. However, given the massive 'clouds' of leaves that sometimes swirl around on windy autumn days in my part of the world, I'm not sure that even a twin-beam ssytem would be all that immune!

    Kind Regards, John.
     
  12. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    36,880
    Thanks Received:
    1,269
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've used Quad detectors before on security systems and they're great.

    All 4 elements have to kick into detection mode before triggering a response.
     
  13. Mursal

    Mursal

    Joined:
    23 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    2,203
    Thanks Received:
    484
    Country:
    Ireland
    Might be easier for you, if the switched output from the beam was 220V, with double contacts (one for phase and one for neutral) able to handle 13 amps? This will leave things a bit more straightforward, but you will have high voltage down where you put the beam, which may not workout that easy to install.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. howardino

    howardino

    Joined:
    22 Dec 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks agreed would prob be easier, but don't think many beams offer that, most offer a simple relay output. Also don't really want high voltage wire going down to the bottom of the drive 17m.

    I guess what I'm looking for is like a wall socket which instead of manually flicking the switch to turn the socket on, the manual switch is replaced by relay input. Would have thought there would products out there that did this that you don't need to get a specialist in to wire up. Is there no devices on the market that does this?

    thx.
     
  15. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    48,114
    Thanks Received:
    3,136
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nothing is impossible, but I've certainly never see/heard of such a product, and would imagine that's becuase the market would be so small. The assumption presumably is that anyone wanting that functionality will use an (unswitched) socket and a separate relay.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  16. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,032
    Thanks Received:
    4,151
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Away from the workings of the detector, in the OP it is stated that it is wanted to 'turn on a socket'.

    Would it not be preferable for it to switch on the actual device(s) and indeed what are these devices?

    Lights, doors, alarm ?
     
  17. Mursal

    Mursal

    Joined:
    23 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    2,203
    Thanks Received:
    484
    Country:
    Ireland
    Not sure whether you want to just turn the socket on with the beam, how were you thinking of turning it off?

    Maybe you would consider a wireless connection between the sensor and socket?

    http://bit.ly/16LpV0l

    This one seems to have only one remote, but its just an example. I went for this one, not for the high IP rating (not sure where you intend to put the socket), but for the good range (70M). Most will turn on from inside the house, with the socket on the external wall.
    You will have to replace the "turn on" button on one of the remotes with the relay contacts of the output relay (12V @ 0.5A) on the beam, but its all low voltage work. How does that sound?

    You can then use a second remote to turn the socket off, if you so wish

    I'm sure some of the other members, will have issues I may have overlooked.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
Loading...

Share This Page