how to wire 2 electric showers on the same circuit

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi I'm an apprentice electrician just finished Phase 2 , and today me and a forth year apprentice added a new shower to a house but added it on the same circuit utilizing electrical interlocking in the board so only one shower at a time can run.
I have learned basic motor control using contactors and switches NO/NC etc but haven't come across this way of using contactors i had a quick look at the wiring of the extra consumer unit but should of drawn a diagram down because now i have forgotten how it was wired and i cant work out how it is done, i have a brain block when trying to work out how the showers control the contactors if that is how its done. How if one is on the other can not come on and vice versa.
Can any one shed some light with a diagram or something as both my boss has no patience to help me and the the 4th year has too much of an ego and just fobs me off making me feel like the scum at the bottom of his shoe who knows nothing! I'm sure as soon as i see how it is done i will be like "oh ye its so damn simple" but its been a busy week and I'm tired so my brain's 'Mush' but I have to know how its done other wise it will keep bugging me.

thanks.

Sponsored Links
How are you selecting shower A or shower B? Two position selector switch?

If so then Shower A is fed via contactor A, Shower B is fed via contactor B.

From the selector switch (position A) wire through a N/C auxiliary contact on contactor B then to A1 (240v coil) on contactor A.
Again, from the selector switch (position B) wire through a N/C auxiliary contact on contactor A then to A1 (240v coil) on contactor B.

So, you want to use shower A, you select position A on the selector switch. Contactor A can only energise if contactor B isn't energised, hence the N/C contact. If contactor B for some reason had latched in then the N/C contact would be in an open position and contactor A would not energise.