1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

I have a scantronic 9448 alarm. Power went off one night ala

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by kampc, 18 Apr 2014.

  1. kampc

    kampc

    Joined:
    18 Apr 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tyne and Wear
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a scantronic 9448 alarm. Power went off one night and alarm would not switch off, key pad unreponsive. Carried out factory reset and although I have manual cant seem to reproramme it properly., basically dont know what I am doing. I live in a bungalow and have 5 pir detectors, one in hall, and kitchen where both exit doors are, one in living room, bedroom and second sitting room. The external alarm and light is not working however when i check them using keypad 4 code they are working. I assume alarm is not properly programmed. Any advice please ??
     
  2. Hoover

    Hoover

    Joined:
    17 Nov 2013
    Messages:
    327
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you replaced the back up battery?

    The system should have dropped on to battery backup during a power failure if the power went and it went straight into alarm the back up battery probably needs replacing.

    If you have the engineers code, you should be able to follow the installation manual to reprogram the panel.

    Do you have a list of how your system was setup prior to the default. As the default settings may not be the same as how the unit was programed.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. kampc

    kampc

    Joined:
    18 Apr 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tyne and Wear
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi we are assuming it was a power failure as the alarm went off in the middle of the night for no reason. The key pad was unreponsive so we had to turn the power off at the mains to silence it. Did the factory reset but unfortunately we do not have a list of previous default settings just those in manual. Is there anything else we could try. I am now in the programming mode but cant seem to get it to work properly and also the external alarm does not sound. Anyone know anyone in Tyne and Wear that services/repairs these things
     
  4. Europlex

    Europlex

    Joined:
    20 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    2,946
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's a Faulty Battery.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. kampc

    kampc

    Joined:
    18 Apr 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tyne and Wear
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thought that if it was hard wired regardless of a faulty battery, it would still work. Thanks for the advice, have ordered a new battery and hopefully this will work
     
  6. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    7,056
    Thanks Received:
    1,088
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Because you have defaulted the panel it will need reprogramming...
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. kampc

    kampc

    Joined:
    18 Apr 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tyne and Wear
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I thought if I did a reset it would default to factory settings and would work fine. Do I just follow the Engineers programme command list, I have tried doing this but when I finished and tried the alarm, the internal alarm sounds continuously after I have exited the property for some reason and there is no external alarm sound. Totally confused.
    One pir in hall - exit door, one on back door exit, one in bedroom, living room and final in dining room. I gather this is 5 zones?? Any advice on what I need to programme
    I assumed zone 1 and 2 were exit zones so programmed them as zone 1 and 2 entry routes Zone 3 & 5 i programmed as normal alarm but no command on list for 4 so really dont know if I am doing it right??
     
  8. Europlex

    Europlex

    Joined:
    20 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    2,946
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A faulty battery can, and does, throw up many different problems. Hard wired or not has no baring.
     
  9. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    7,056
    Thanks Received:
    1,088
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    First thing how many zones are used ? Have you made them all used ? As you may now have a zone with nothing in it ! If it's not been linked out in the panel your system will never set ! Open panel make note of all zones with things connected and any zone that has nothing in it . Just confirm it is a 9448+ or a style...
     
  10. kampc

    kampc

    Joined:
    18 Apr 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tyne and Wear
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Its a 9448 style alarm with a 9427 style keypad. Do I remove the key pad/9427 cover to check this as cant find anything on inside 9448??.
     
  11. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    7,056
    Thanks Received:
    1,088
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No it's not on keypad it's the main box around 20cm x 20cm where the battery is located..
     
  12. Europlex

    Europlex

    Joined:
    20 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    2,946
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You've replaced that battery very quickly, well done :rolleyes:
     
  13. kampc

    kampc

    Joined:
    18 Apr 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tyne and Wear
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry not been on for a while due to a bereavement. Battery replaced but i still cant seem to reprogramme. Think I need an idiots guide!! After I finished reprogramming , four out of 5 of the pir detectors lights have now gone out!!!
    When I set the alarm, after 45 seconds the internal alarm only goes off even though no-one is in the house. The external bell does not work at all but seems fine when I do the bell test
    Can anyone help a damsel in distress???
     
  14. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    7,056
    Thanks Received:
    1,088
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1st thing stand by your alarm panel keep still enter code .... What lights are lit on the panel ?
     
  15. kampc

    kampc

    Joined:
    18 Apr 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tyne and Wear
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I assume you meant the user code not engineers code. Only lights on panels are the top one - wavy line next to it and the other at the very bottom with a padlock next to it. If I put in my code the second light from the top flashes red and the internal alarm starts to sound
     
Loading...

Share This Page