ICOS/Ideal HE18 Hot Water but No Heating

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have an ICOS Ideal HE18.

Got up this morning to NO HEATING but water is working fine.

I've done as much checking as I can - I'm no expert.

I have hot water, my wireless room thermostat appears to be working (I've reset it to test it) and it's turned up to 25. I've fiddled with the valve in the airing cupboard, I've reset the boiler and I've turned it on and off at the siwtch.

But the boiler shows '0' (except when water is on)

System is pretty clean as about 6 weeks ago I did a system flush with cleaner, left it a week or so then stuck some inhibitor in - I do this every couple of years.

But now I need help and advice

Sponsored Links
What make/model wireless room stat do you have? Is the valve in the airing cupboard moving when the stat is turned on or off?

Not to sure. I've wiggled it about a bit and the heating has now come on. Maybe it was a bit sticky.
I don't know if it was the doing that to the valve or the fact that I left the wireless thermostat in the airing cupboard by mistake and the temp went up, but after I took it out and adjusted the settings the heating kicked into life. I'm going to keep my eye on it for s little while. But thanks anyway.

Sponsored Links
It wasn't deliberate. I was training the rx/tx and forgot about it.

Been there, done it!
Couldn't figure why heating wasn't firing up on a recent job - elderly customer was in closed off room, with a blow heater on full AND the NEST roomstat was right next to her... Room temp was 28 degrees in there and the stat was set to call for 23 degrees!!
It gets better... I gave her the blower to keep her warm while I worked :whistle:

I have an ICOS Ideal HE18.

Got up this morning to NO HEATING but water is working fine.

I've done as much checking as I can - I'm no expert.