1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

IGNITION KEY VAUXHALL ASTRA 52 REG,REMOTE BROKEN.

Discussion in 'Car Repairs / Maintenance' started by ellsie, 3 Oct 2010.

  1. ellsie

    ellsie

    Joined:
    15 Mar 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Derby
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    HI,THE REMOTE PART OF MY IGNITION KEY IS BROKEN,THE ACTUAL KEY ITS SELF IS OKAY AND WILL OPEN AND CLOSE THE DOORS WHEN INSERTED IN THE LOCK,WHEN I INSERT A NEW BATTERY IN THE THE KEY FOB THE LIGHT ON THE KEY STAYS ON ALL THE TIME, AS THOUGH IT AS BEEN PRESSED TO OPEN OR CLOSE THE DOORS AND WILL NOT OPERATE THE DOORS WHEN PRESSED, DOES ANYBODY KNOW A SOLUTION TO THIS PROBLEM.THANKS ELLSIE
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Mursal

    Mursal

    Joined:
    23 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    2,203
    Thanks Received:
    484
    Country:
    Ireland
    May be the switch that the button hits is stuck down. Can you hear a small click as you push the button?
    Happened to me with an Alfa key, I got it stripped and eventually fixed the switch back into place. Not easy to get the key apart/back together working again. But eventually got it.
     
  4. ellsie

    ellsie

    Joined:
    15 Mar 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Derby
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    HI,
    THERE ARE 2 MICRO SWITCHES, ONE CLICKS BUT THE OTHER SEEMS QUITE DEAD ,CAN I RENEW JUST THE SMALL CIRCUIT BOARD OR DO I HAVE TO GET A NEW KEY FROM THE DEALER.THANKS ELLSIE
     
  5. Mickymoody

    Mickymoody

    Joined:
    8 Mar 2010
    Messages:
    3,336
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hit caps.
     
  6. Burnerman

    Burnerman

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    22,593
    Thanks Received:
    4,401
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    An auto locksmith should be able to sort out this one for you - the individual switches are replaceable but you need to be pretty good with a tiny soldering iron......
    Failing that, its a main stealer I'm afraid.
    John :)
     
  7. Mursal

    Mursal

    Joined:
    23 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    2,203
    Thanks Received:
    484
    Country:
    Ireland
    About the micro switches, yes Maplin should have them, but as previously said they can be hard to fit onto the board.
     
  8. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page