Installing a 3KW built in oven

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
My old oven need replacing, and I have been looking at a 3KW oven to replace it.

My current oven is 2200w,and plugged into a socket which is placed in the kitchen cabinet next to the oven cabinet, all done by the people who renovated this house 6 years ago, before we moved in.

I am not an electrician, but figured I could connect an oven to a plug!
However, I don't know if a 3KW oven would run on a circuit sufficient for a 2.2KW oven? Any advice?

I am basically trying to avoid having to pay someone almost £100 for fitting a plug - alternatively, maybe I should not get a 3KW oven, but am not sure how to search ovens using the KW as a criteria...

I don't know how to find out about the existing circuit in my kitchen, but thought about just hooking the oven up, and see if everything started popping once I plug it in? Any thoughts on this?

Any advice much appreciated.

Susanne

Sponsored Links
Just have a look at single ovens, find 1 or 2 that you like & look at the power rating.

Ive just looked on comets web site. If you look in specification it tells you hard wired or 13 amp plug

a 3kW OVEN will work on a 13A plug. 3kW is the max load for such a plug. Most single ovens sold in the UK use between 10A and 12A. This is about 2200W to 2500W

Double ovens generally use more, and need their own circuit. Electric cookers and hobs use much more and need their own circuit.

Presumably you have a gas hob.

Thanks for your replies.

I've now got the new oven, and am wondering if anyone can confirm whether I can use the old cable/flex from the existing oven with the new oven:

The cable is labelled "H05RR-F" and "3G1,00mm2"...
Is this the right type of wire for a 3KW oven?

Many thanks in advance, for your time :0)

Sponsored Links
er.. no.. that's 1mm cable you have there.. you should ideally have 2.5.. but can get away with 1.5..

1mm is good for 11 amps.. and 3KW is about 12 amps..