1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Installing electric in outside shed

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by shays47, 8 Jul 2016.

  1. shays47

    shays47

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Devon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    We are getting a shed, which our children will be using for a games room, and social area in our back garden. The shed is 12ft x 8ft, so plenty of room for them.
    I would like to have some electric in there for sockets and lighting. The shed will be about 25 to 30ft from the back of the house. I was thinking of running an extension lead from the house to the shed, but obviously that is not ideal(although it would be in trunking). I am also thinking of spurring off the nearest socket in the house instead. As far as I am aware I can run a spur off the socket to a fused switch inside the house, then, from there run the cable through the wall out to the shed. The cable will be above ground, so will be in conduit all the way from the house to the shed. Once in the shed, can it go directly into a double socket, or will I have to have another dp switch out there before it goes to the socket? If I have a dp switch in shed, am I able to run 1 wire(2.5mm) to the socket, and another(1.5mm) to an overhead light? I have seen instructions on the internet, but want to make sure that is ok. Is normal 2.5mm cable ok to use outside if in conduit?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    5,773
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Notifiable work. The light needs to go via a switched fused connection unit with a 5 amp fuse. Lighting uses 1.0mm cable not 1.5mm. Use SWA cable for outside. Seems you need a spark.
     
  4. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,784
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A mixed-bag of quality there:

    (n) Not if it's not a new circuit.


    (y)


    (n) 1.5mm can of course be used.


    (y)


    (y)
     
  5. Risteard

    Risteard

    Joined:
    18 Jun 2010
    Messages:
    1,995
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Location:
    Derry, Ireland
    Country:
    Ireland
    It may or it may not. It also may use neither.
     
  6. Larner24

    Larner24

    Joined:
    8 Jul 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would use swa and go into a 2 way rcd board
     
  7. Iggifer

    Iggifer

    Joined:
    8 Sep 2011
    Messages:
    4,637
    Thanks Received:
    586
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What's the point in a 2-way board when you're spurred from a ring final?
     
  8. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,784
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1. No point.
    2. It's also a contravention of BS 7671.
     
  9. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  10. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page