1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Installing hive single channel on a logic combi 30

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Archie Maine, 4 Dec 2021.

  1. Archie Maine

    Archie Maine

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My old system is comprised of a drayton LP111si Single channel programer and a honeywell wired thermostat. When I removed the old programer to try and slip the hive on it all powered on and turned green but would not physically activate the boiler. I know there are 2 cables used to control this but don't know what slots to use or if a wire is needed to connect them. I have attached 3 images 1 of the original wiring with the thermostat still attached and another without the thermostat connected, the last is of the only honeywell thermostat.
    IMG_0605.JPG IMG_0606.JPG IMG_0607.JPG

    Thanks in advance Archie
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Madrab

    Madrab

    Joined:
    4 Oct 2012
    Messages:
    8,547
    Thanks Received:
    2,476
    Location:
    East Renfrewshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  4. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    9,634
    Thanks Received:
    2,635
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Good point :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    9,634
    Thanks Received:
    2,635
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you turned the Honeywell to maximum temp, bridged out, or decommissioned?
     
  6. Madrab

    Madrab

    Joined:
    4 Oct 2012
    Messages:
    8,547
    Thanks Received:
    2,476
    Location:
    East Renfrewshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Check the wiring diagram that came with the HIVE. By the looks of it, if the backplate now looks like PIC 2 and the black and grey run to the boiler's PCB, low(zero) volt side, you'd need to change one of the terminals.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. Archie Maine

    Archie Maine

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the quick response would i move the grey cable over and to what terminal?
     
  8. Madrab

    Madrab

    Joined:
    4 Oct 2012
    Messages:
    8,547
    Thanks Received:
    2,476
    Location:
    East Renfrewshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You didn't answer any of the questions .... it's really important because you could cause damage if it's not done properly and I wouldn't want to be the one that offers the solution and you blow your boiler. I have to admit, the fact that you seem reluctant to look at the wiring diagram and then check your backplate and boiler wiring to ensure it's correct is a little worrying.

    The reason I say this is the PIC2 wiring seems to have it's 5 core 240V white cable still connected, when that backplate is powered up the 240V live is heading somewhere, it was originally being switched through the stat. I would expected to see the now disconnected grey sheathed cable's black and grey heading to the boiler's zero voltage switch and the standard 3 core power cable still connected to power the backplate ergo the HIVE. The other white 5 core cable, originally heading to the stat, would be removed.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    23,955
    Thanks Received:
    10,055
    Location:
    Livingston
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why do you have wires in Terminal 4 on your origional wiring ?
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. Johnmdc

    Johnmdc

    Joined:
    5 Jun 2015
    Messages:
    350
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Bolton
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Terminal 3
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. Archie Maine

    Archie Maine

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The wiring has remained unchanged from the original install by BG also the 230v the 5 core is not coming to the thermostat that is managed by a three core. Also the boiler is on a spur. The first image shows the original wiring with the thermostat still attached.
     
  13. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,842
    Thanks Received:
    1,637
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not sure why you have posted your last post, @Johnmdc has said what needs to be done, but by way of an explanation:

    The Drayton LP111 doesn't make any use of terminal 4, so it was just used to connect the black wire from the thermostat to the grey wire that goes back to the boiler.
    Likewise the Hive Single Channel doesn't have any function associated with terminal 4....

    Hive.jpg

    ...but you have a wire in there :confused:

    Now that the thermostat has been disconnected the grey wire in 4 should instead be connected to terminal 3. Which will replicate what you had before, but without the thermostat in circuit.

    As it was
    Terminal 3 > Brown wire = thermostat supply > Black wire = thermostat switched > terminal 4 used as connection > Grey switched wire to boiler

    Without the room thermostat
    Terminal 3 > Grey switched wire to boiler
     
    Last edited: 4 Dec 2021
    • Like Like x 2
  14. Archie Maine

    Archie Maine

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    IMG_0613.JPG
    Just before I turn the power back on just want to double check that all the wiring looks in order.
     
    Last edited: 4 Dec 2021
  15. Johnmdc

    Johnmdc

    Joined:
    5 Jun 2015
    Messages:
    350
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Bolton
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes looks good.
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  16. Madrab

    Madrab

    Joined:
    4 Oct 2012
    Messages:
    8,547
    Thanks Received:
    2,476
    Location:
    East Renfrewshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The three core would normally be the power supply to that backplate from the FCU and the boiler should be fed from the same FCU to ensure safe isolation. If that's is the case then what is the live and neutral that is part of that 5 core cable now sending power to?
     
  17. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    9,634
    Thanks Received:
    2,635
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would say LNE from FCU to backplate and backplate to boiler LNE?
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page