installing wiring for duel fuel double oven cooker

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by rusty_nuts_2000, 6 May 2009.

  1. rusty_nuts_2000

    rusty_nuts_2000

    Joined:
    30 Oct 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi i have bought a new duel fuel cooker double electric oven the problem i have is.
    i know the wire i need to go from the fuse box to the 45amp socket on the wall what i am wondering is do i need to go from the 45amp socket with 6mm cable to a cooker cable outlet plate then to the cooker with the 6mm cable,
    or can i just feed the 6mm cable from the cooker to the 45amp wall socket.
    hope there`s someone can help thanks steve.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. kevindgas

    kevindgas

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    5,743
    Thanks Received:
    480
    Location:
    Hedge End Hants
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1. this is notifiable work as it is a new circuit.
    2. no you should not go from switch unit to connection box in 6mm
    3. no you should not go direct from switch to cooker.
    4. dual fuel means you should have a gassafe registered installer with a suitable electric qualification or get both RGI and Electrician to attend same day.
     
  4. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why not, if 6mm² is what the rest of the circuit is, and the fuse/MCB is ok for 6mm²?


    Unless he's already got a bayonet connection?
     
  5. kevindgas

    kevindgas

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    5,743
    Thanks Received:
    480
    Location:
    Hedge End Hants
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so how many installs have 45amp fittings and 6mm cable on a cooker circuit? not many I would think.

    how many cookers come with the hose fitted to the cooker again next to zero.

    so the correct answer is what i said

    GET QUALIFIED PERSON/S to fit it
     
  6. kevindgas

    kevindgas

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    5,743
    Thanks Received:
    480
    Location:
    Hedge End Hants
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if it is then yes, but it is more likely to be 10mm and most electricians would expect that to continue to the connection unit as there is always a posibility of a all electric unit being fitted.
     
  7. kevindgas

    kevindgas

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    5,743
    Thanks Received:
    480
    Location:
    Hedge End Hants
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    care to tell all what that is ?
     
  8. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The former - don't know, but any recent replacement will probably be so rated.

    The latter - a very large number indeed, since a 30A circuit will traditionally cope with up to a 15kW cooker.


    OK - that I didn't know.

    OOI, how difficult is it to screw a flexible hose into the back of a cooker?

    That was a question of interest to me, as I'm getting a new dual-fuel cooker, and I've got an existing bayonet connection used by the existing cooker. As it happens I'll need that moved so I will be getting an RGI anyway, but if I hadn't had to move it I was thinking "do I really need to get someone to screw a hose into the back of the cooker if it doesn't come with one?"
     
  9. ColJack

    ColJack

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    11,795
    Thanks Received:
    410
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    to paraphrase one of your own responses to a similar situation..

    "how will you test to ensure that the connection is gas tight and what test instruments do you own or can get hold of to do said tests?"

    ;)
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. ElectricDunc

    ElectricDunc

    Joined:
    3 Apr 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Bottle of water with a bit of fairy liquid is all you need ain't it?! :LOL:

    Back to the original bit of the question, it is not uncommon to find a 45A DP switch on a 32A cooker circuit. Infact that's all i install as Scolmore don't do a 32A DP switch in the range i use.

    Steve, are you installing a new circuit from the consumer unit to your new cooker or is there an existing 32A circuit fed in 6mm to the 45A switch in your kitchen already? I can't quite decide which it is so wanted clarification.
     
  12. ColJack

    ColJack

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    11,795
    Thanks Received:
    410
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    that's wha I asked a while back on the plumbing forum..
    aparently the washing up liquid ( lets not get brand specific here ) does something nasty to either the brass fittings or the rubber hoses or something..
     
  13. ElectricDunc

    ElectricDunc

    Joined:
    3 Apr 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's an interesting one to know, surprised it would do damage considering it's fairly innocuous stuff but hey what do we know.
     
  14. ColJack

    ColJack

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    11,795
    Thanks Received:
    410
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so is cooking oil but it eats away at rubber hoses just the same... ( have to change the pipe in a bio-diesel run car.. )
     
  15. kevindgas

    kevindgas

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    5,743
    Thanks Received:
    480
    Location:
    Hedge End Hants
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    not difficult at all, but how do you verify that the cooker hasn't got a gas leak?
    in the last 2 months I have fitted 5 cookers and 2 hobs

    faults found
    loose test nipple on float rail on one cooker
    gas meter letting by, on one cooker install (transco called out)
    faulty ignition on one hob ( clicks constantly on one burner if turned down from full)

    so it is not a matter of just screwing on the hose (this is exactly the reason why they don't come fitted) and the fact there are 3 types of connector (micro point, standard bayonet and commercial type quick release) the 3rd used in pub kitchens etc
     
  16. ColJack

    ColJack

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    11,795
    Thanks Received:
    410
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    any truth to the washing up liquid info I was told?
     
  17. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Fair enough.

    But why should it not be gas tight?


    The connection at the cooker end is iron, isn't it?


    So if I ask the maker why it doesn't come with a hose they'd say "because we can't guarantee to have made the thing properly, and we rely on the RGI inspecting it at install time to save you from disaster".

    Interesting ;)


    That sounds more like it.
     
Loading...

Share This Page