Insulation Resistance

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I’m hoping that I might be able to benefit from the experience of some of you here. Although my ‘experience’ spans very many years, since I’m not an electrician, that experience necessary relates to a very small number of electrical installations.

PVC is an incredibly good insulator, even when ‘old’. Over all the years, the (very) few times I have come across ‘measurable’ insulation resistance in domestic wiring has been when it has transpired that there has actually been a genuine problem of serious cable damage or an accessory full of water. On all other occasions, provided I’ve been very careful to eliminate everything other than cables and their terminations from the tests, I have invariably got ‘immeasurably high’ readings – commonly “>500MΩ” with 500V testing.

However, on the basis of what I’ve seen written and said, I get the impression that it’s not necessarily all that uncommon to see measurable, even if high, IR in installations that are deemed to be OK. Is this the case and, if so, is it genuinely due to deterioration of the wiring’s insulation, or something else? ... and, if one does find measurable IR, does the situation tend to deteriorate fairly rapidly thereafter. I have to say that, knowing how good PVC insulation is, if I came across a measurable IR I think I would take it to be an indication of ‘something probably going seriously wrong’ and would not want that situation to persist – but maybe I’m over-cautious because of my very limited exposure to real-world situations?

Any insights from the experienced would be much appreciated.

Kind Regards, John.

Sponsored Links
As regards installations I don't know. But as a comparison we test 11kV (6350 L-E) circuits with a 5kV megger, anything over 10MΩ in some circumstances is deemed acceptable, figures up to 5GΩ can be obtained