1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Internet providers

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by sxturbo, 15 Jan 2021.

  1. sxturbo

    sxturbo

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2014
    Messages:
    2,698
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In an age where we are trying to reduce wastage and plastics (at least that's the rhetoric) why do each one of them insist on providing you with a new router each time you switch.

    I switch provider each time it comes up for renewal as there is usually a better package available in terms of speed and cost.

    But why do they insist on their own routers, what difference does it make to them whether we use their router or not. ( I know we can use our own router if we wish, but it's a proper faff having to phone up and get authorisation codes/passwords etc)

    I would rather spend the money on a decent router once and then just switch provider when the time arises without having to faff around each time changing the settings and passwords, swapping the power supply buried in the rat's nest behind the telly etc.

    Why can't it just be like gas and electric where the new provider just takes over the billing..

    Anyway rant over
     
  2. chalkywhite

    chalkywhite

    Joined:
    24 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    198
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I like your thinking.

    Like most modern tech these days, too much is obsolete too frequently. Take Sonos speakers, my 43" LG TV with all the catch up apps broken.
    I use an Asus router piggybacked off my NowTV router, not had to change provider for 5 years as they keep my deal pretty competitive. NowTV fibre (to the green box), with Sky cinema for £25pm
     
  3. Sponsored Links
  4. Stivino

    Stivino

    Joined:
    11 Oct 2006
    Messages:
    3,227
    Thanks Received:
    326
    Location:
    Midlothian
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    One of the reasons they give you a new router is because the people on their helplines are trained to use the software of that router.
    BTW, that's also one of the reasons that all Ryanair planes are the same.
    I don't know about the gas meters but there are different models of "smart" electricity meters and with the older type, if you switch providers, you need another meter.
     
  5. daveforever

    daveforever

    Joined:
    19 Jan 2021
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The simple reason is they are unable to support third party hardware or provide diagnostics. Consumer ISPs work very much on a stack-em-high-sell-em-cheap cookie cutter model for their service provision.

    What complicates matters somewhat is if a problem is actually due to on-premises equipment then Openreach will charge for an engineer visit. So the consumer providers need to rule that out of the equation when they interact with customers on a daily basis.

    There is also another, new technical reason. As the market shifts towards SoGEA - which from a BT wholsale perspective essentially removes a standalone analogue line order being coupled with the provision of the broadband service - this now means that carriers are beginning to offer the 'landline' portion of their service as a VoIP solution integrated within their stock routers.

    For example, the impression I got from the Sky forums is that while there are 'hax' to allow provision of third party routers with the Sky broadband service these then render the VoIP service delivered by their router non-functioning.

    If you are unhappy with being locked to an ISP router or even receiving one, then by paying a premium you'll find that there are many independent business-centric providers out there who are happy to support (and indeed provide) third party router equipment rather than just send out stock residential-grade routers.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. z0mbi3

    z0mbi3

    Joined:
    14 Jan 2021
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've kept my router since I've started using A&A. I like them.
     
Loading...

Share This Page