Is a new RCD / Breaker in my consumer unit notifiable

Like everyone else, I missed the "rental" word in the initial message. What I've written therefore needs to be read together with all the caveats which have recently been added since people twigged the "rental" word!

Kind Regards, John

Sponsored Links
Hey guys thanks for your comments.

Apologies for the bits of confusion from my post.

1. I am the landlord of the flat, so will be renting it out to tenants
2. I already have an Electrical safety certificate that is about 10 months old.
3. Apologies about mixing up the RCD and MCB thing, i was typing the post in a rush and didnt realise i mixed them up, suffice to say i am not a qualified electrician.

Here is a pic of where the work was done:

Sorry it doesnt show the wiring.

So going back to JohnW2 and Eric have said:
As eric has said, this is one situation in which the rules about notification are essentially crazy. I don't think that there is any doubt that what you have done (add an MCB and use it to feed just one socket) constitutes 'adding a new circuit' - hence notifiable. However, as eric also said, all you need to do is remove the new MCB and shift the cable onto an MCB serving a sockets circuit (together with the conductors already connected to that MCB) and it then just becomes a spur (if a ring circuit) or branch (if a radial circuit) of that existing circuit, and is hence not notifiable (even in Wales, where notification requirements are more extensive than in England).

If you are concerned about having something in your house which should have been notified, but wasn't, then I would suggest that you make the change that I've just suggested and 'forget' that the installation ever went through the phase it's currently in!

Kind Regards, John

If i was to move the wire for the socket MCB B4 to MCB A2 (Kitchen Sockets), that would be classed as a spur so none notifiable?

If so i can do that easy enough.