Is it possible to beef up a bandsaw motor?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
For my sins many years ago I bought a Clarke CBS250 and have pretty much regretted it ever since.

I've pretty much avoided using it as much as i can and have chosen projects that don't use it as a consequence but as i'm just a hobbyist working in a single garage its taking up a lot of real estate for something that's not being used.

I'm not in a position to be able to spend a few thousand on one at the minute and if i was i need to sort my dust extraction first anyway, so i'm wondering if it would be possible and if so practical, to swap out the motor for something with a bit more grunt.

Any suggestions are welcome.

Cheers

Sponsored Links
Fitting a more powerful motor might over stress the saw blade and/or the framework of the machine. This could result in injury if the saw blade snaps while in use.

As hobby bandsaws go, this is actually pretty good.......the motors are flange mounted so a bigger motor would be pretty awkward to mount, I think.
What materials and section sizes are you cutting?
John :)

As hobby bandsaws go, this is actually pretty good.......the motors are flange mounted so a bigger motor would be pretty awkward to mount, I think.
What materials and section sizes are you cutting?
Its anything at all, even 11mm ply the blade will wander. i upgraded to a larger blade and that helped but its just been a nightmare from the start. Its my first bandsaw so i may have set it up wrongly but i've watched countless youtube videos now over the years.

Sponsored Links
i suspect you may have already come across - but I know peter millard went through a lot of cheap bandsaws, Aldi etc and also a video setting it all up
as i say you may already have watched
Hi yes i've watched Peter many times. The main issue is that the CBS250 has decided to be unique, rather than have the wheels either side of the blade facing out they face in towards the blade.