Is it really so expensive?

Sponsored Links
Yes they are the adaptors you need, it will be a good idea to get them and find someone to fit them,but it does seem there are a lot of pi$$ takers were you live.

I found someone to do the job for a 100 pounds.
No hidden costs, no extra things to fix, just the leaks. I'll see how he does the job.
I'm really shocked with the quotes I got. 300 and 400 pounds were the worst. One guy didn't even pretend to hide his intentions, he asked me if I worked in the oil industry.
Folks at work brutally explained it to me: my non-scottish accent makes me a potential rip off target.

Sponsored Links
why such a downer on plastic to cast. 25yrs in the trade and never had one leak through any fault in the union.

ive 20 years in the trade m8 and its rains here 310 days of the year the fittings for cast to plastic aint suited for here you either butt two stopends together and cover in lead or give a mega overlap

his gutters already installed plastic to cast in the same manner the union will do it with a bolt hows the union gona be diffrent

if fitted correctly shouldnt matter if it rains every day of the year. as long as the cast side is fitted on a proper cast joint and sealed and bolted there is no reason for it to leak. problems only occur when fitted incorrectly where cast has been cut down or not properly sealed.

his gutters already installed plastic to cast in the same manner the union will do it with a bolt hows the union gona be diffrent

seems obvious to me from the pictures that the profile/radius of the plastic is far too small for the cast. thats where the problem is. a correct union will solve that. a union will be a harder plastic and less prone to movement and will seal correctly. trying to drill and bolt flexible guttering will never work. the profile difference is too great a gap to fill which is why its leaking. use the correct fittings and it will work.