Is my house falling down?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I bought this house two years ago. It was built in 1892. Tonight I was in the living room. I noticed for the first time that the plasterboard had moved away from the external wall (inside the house but this wall is an external wall) and oddly there was a draft coming into the house. I tore away the crumbling plasterboard. I used a clothers hanger that I had straightened out and probed the wall. To my shock I found a small opening between the bricks and without too much force the full length of the hanger went through the wall. It must have come out on the other side - outside the house. I haven't been out to check as it is late and that side of the wall is boundary with the neighbour's land. I can't make sense of this as I have little knowledge of these things. I can only guess the mortar has become weak between the bricks but what is the implication of this for me? Do I need to rebuild the entire wall. I think the wall is a cavity wall. So if the inner brickwork is weak like this then I expect the external skin must also be weak. How do I fix this problem? Will the wall collapse if left like this?

Sponsored Links
ACHOO

4G78uX.gif

:LOL:

Oldie but goody! :D

Providing walls are "plumb" that is vertical and evenly supported under their base (foundations), they don't fall down. The mortar is to keep the bricks apart :) or rather even out bends or high spikes on their surfaces so the weight is spread over the whole brick not just on a high point.
So peer along the edge of this dodgy wall and see if it bulging or moving inwards. To be really technical stretch a piece of string along the face of the wall and see how flat it is. Put a plumb bob on it and see if its vertical. Go a long way away from it and view it to see if there are any cracks in it, and see if the pointing (outer surface of the mortar) is good and even or is falling out or even missing.