1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Is my timeswitch faulty?

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by goofy gorilla, 13 May 2019.

  1. goofy gorilla

    goofy gorilla

    Joined:
    19 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    581
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well it's nearly 7.30 pm..the timer hasn't switched the boiler on..strange..?
     
  2. undertrained

    undertrained

    Joined:
    17 Mar 2019
    Messages:
    542
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How do you control your heating temperature, via the boiler? Press the top 2 buttons at the same time, will need to do it twice (first time wakes it up). If it has S.30 you have a room stat.
     
  3. goofy gorilla

    goofy gorilla

    Joined:
    19 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    581
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes via the boiler. I don't have a room stat..I control the heating via the timer on the boiler..I have nothing else..I prefer this way..
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. undertrained

    undertrained

    Joined:
    17 Mar 2019
    Messages:
    542
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So did you press the 2 buttons?
     
  5. undertrained

    undertrained

    Joined:
    17 Mar 2019
    Messages:
    542
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So because you have no room thermostat, your boiler stat maybe at temperature.
     
  6. goofy gorilla

    goofy gorilla

    Joined:
    19 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    581
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes , some menu came up, pressure, installers menu, etc..nothing I saw about s30?
     
  7. undertrained

    undertrained

    Joined:
    17 Mar 2019
    Messages:
    542
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You have to press them both at the same time, it should give you the status of the boiler. If it’s not your time switch, and you have no room stat then I’d be looking towards your boiler temperature setting. What happens when you remove the timeswitch, does the heating come on?
     
  8. goofy gorilla

    goofy gorilla

    Joined:
    19 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    581
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes i did press them together, I get see pic..I havnt tried removing the switch to see if heating comes on..is it suppose to or not? 20190529_190444.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. undertrained

    undertrained

    Joined:
    17 Mar 2019
    Messages:
    542
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It should come on if you remove the timeswitch, but in that pic if you look in the top left you have s.31, and states summer operation. Try the boiler temperature press the button on top right when back to normal mode, see what temp set to, if it’s to set temp, then it will not come on.
     
  10. Grumpy Gasman

    Grumpy Gasman

    Joined:
    6 Jun 2018
    Messages:
    96
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you took the above photo @ 5.07 am then the clock is correct.
    Assuming the photo was taken @ 17.07 then the clock is either 12 hours fast or 12 hours slow.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. undertrained

    undertrained

    Joined:
    17 Mar 2019
    Messages:
    542
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well spotted, hadn’t seen it on that one :eek:
     
Loading...

Share This Page