Isolation point for appliance

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi fellas

I'm a heating engineer, just installed a new cylinder and controls in a basement, boiler is upstairs in the kitchen

My spark put the fused spur in the basement which would be normal in this example

Another spark has put us there to test and upgrade electrics, he is saying I need spur next to appliance

Can I put a label on the boiler stating isolation in basement ? Is it a reg?

Many thanks

Sponsored Links
Can you fit a DP isolation switch to the boiler supply?

IE, the cable from the spur in the cellar which feeds the boiler.. and label it something like supplied via fused spur adjacent to XXX in cellar.

There is no actual electrical regulation requiring local isolation as such.

However, where it is provided for maintenance, there should be only one device for the system and, where remote as in your case, it shall be capable of being locked to prevent inadvertent re-energising.

In your case, wherever you have one it will not satisfy the conditions for working at the other location.

You could fit the extra switch as wanted and label "not for isolation purposes".

They can always use the CU to isolate and lock the whole circuit.

The spark has said he would be happy if I put a double pole switch interrupting the boiler supply, I don't like the idea of two isolation points, someone could get hurt.

The boiler circuit is also on its own circuit from the consumer unit

Sponsored Links
The spark has said he would be happy if I put a double pole switch interrupting the boiler supply, I don't like the idea of two isolation points, someone could get hurt.
If they are in series, how does that increase the chances of someone getting hurt?

The boiler circuit is also on its own circuit from the consumer unit
So you've already got two isolation points - the MCB and the FCU.

My spark put the fused spur in the basement which would be normal in this example