Kitchen electrics - 2 ovens and more

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
We are currently redoing our kitchen. I have got an electrician in so I am not doing any of the following work. It's just to check really as looking online seems it's not correct.

Layout is: Double socket number 1 loops out and feeds double socket number 2, loops onto hob socket,this spurs to a double socket and also onto extractor socket.

We are having 2 single oven (2.85kw each, 13A plug in). They are saying these are both ok to be plugged into double socket number 1 and used at the same time. have

They have removed/cut the existing cooker cable, so no longer in use. Should this have been used to feed a socket for the 2 single ovens?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Hi, i would have used the existing cooker cable to supply a double socket for the ovens. Your and more....... on one ring with the ovens, may be pushing it !

John

Much appreciated for the response. I am no electrician. But it didn't seem right to me. So the cooker cable feeding the double socket for 2 single ovens, then hob and extractor, and the other double sockets off the normal ring main be ok?

We are having 2 single oven (2.85kw each, 13A plug in). They are saying these are both ok to be plugged into double socket number 1 and used at the same time.
I think that many would say that that was not really advisable. If they must be 'plugged in', things would be better if you had two single sockets, rather than one double.

However, to have two ovens running off a single kitchen ring circuit (if that's what you are talking about) is really not a very clever idea, either, since they alone would use most of the available power. What else is likely to be supplied by that circuit - any other 'machines'?

Kind Regards, John

I think that many would say that that was not really advisable. If they must be 'plugged in', things would be better if you had two single sockets, rather than one double.