kitchen sockets under wall cupboards

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,
am currently having a debate with my kitchen fitters.
I am a Test/inspection electrician, and have rewired the kitchen to standard. However, to make fitting spashbacks easier, and keep them clean, I intended putting sockets in surface pattresses under the wall cabinets.
The fitters said they have never seen it, and were worried about steam getting into the sockets. The steam is a fair comment, but unless a kettle is left under them for some time, i cant see it being a problem - sockets are sealed compartments to a point... (ok, normal ones aren't ip x6 rated) ... but basically, i wont put a kettle under the cupboards !!
Any comments or am i having a dim day ?

Sponsored Links
Are you signing the test certificate? If so ultimately its your say so (and as the customer ... yeh ok forget I said that!)

If you tuck them under the wall units you need to be careful the pelmet/worktop lights don't get in the way. Grazed hand on the pelment, burnt by the light, scolded by the steam and finally zapped by the socket - one way to cut back on coffee I guess.

thanks brown, but i am after any potential hazard reasons not too... i cannot image much steam getting into a socket .. certainly enough to create a link between the plastic recessed terminals at the back, but u never know ....

Sponsored Links
thanks jason, i knew i had seen something like those b4 from tlc, so as you say, unless they are specifically sealded, then it should be ok. bit pricey though, but then again, anything with chrome on it tends to add a zero !!

It's your call. As a Test and Inspect engineer, you must justify any 'external influence'. Perhaps if there was a row of several kettles, you should be concerned :LOL:

Kitchen fitters have a rule book of their own - and they alter it daily to fit around them selfs :LOL: