L6-20 Plugs convert to standard 240v?

Joined
24 Feb 2007
Messages
556
Reaction score
3
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys, I'm in the process of buying a small commercial grade machine and the power is:

"L6-20 Plugs; Recommend 15 Amp breaker"

Screen Shot 2021-02-05 at 06.02.44.png


Any I able to buy an adapter or convert this somehow for standard home use?

Many thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
27 Apr 2008
Messages
8,874
Reaction score
751
Country
United Kingdom
IF a 15 amp breaker is recommended then your 13a sockets may not be enough to power it.
Can you add a 16A breaker in your consumer unit and a new 4mm+ cable to a matching socket?
Where is the machine going to be used and what supply have you got available there?
 
Joined
27 Jan 2008
Messages
20,295
Reaction score
2,016
Location
Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
Country
United Kingdom
Yes you can get the adaptor
s-l1600.jpg
but it is down to if 13 amp outlet is good enough to start with. And it would be easier to just fit a 13 amp plug if that was the case.
 
Joined
28 Mar 2004
Messages
9,902
Reaction score
446
Country
United Kingdom
Your photo doesn't match your description. L6-20 is an american twist-lock plug type but what you show in your photo looks like a "CEEFORM".

What exactly is the machine? do you have proper specifications/instructions available.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
28 Jul 2009
Messages
6,940
Reaction score
596
Location
Kent
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys, I'm in the process of buying a small commercial grade machine and the power is:

"L6-20 Plugs; Recommend 15 Amp breaker"

View attachment 221598

Any I able to buy an adapter or convert this somehow for standard home use?

Many thanks.
This is What I know to be L6-20
s-l300.jpg
your pic looks like a CEEForm plug

However I'm very confused, I think the bottom right of your pic looks like another connector and I wonder if you have a CEEForm to L6-20 socket adapter there.


EDIT: I started my reply about 09:00 then distracted by family issues and didn't think to check for replies before posting.
 
Joined
24 Feb 2007
Messages
556
Reaction score
3
Country
United Kingdom
Hello guys and thanks for all the replies. You are correct it is not a L6-20. I spoke to the manufacturers in the states and they said it used that but they mustn't have realised it was a UK machine.

Matty, I check the consumer units and they are all full unfortunately in both the garage and house. See below:

IMG_8719.JPG IMG_8718.JPG

I've had a look and these should do the job?

https://www.cef.co.uk/catalogue/pro...jzQ1Avbl-wlOaRElNl0aAkO-EALw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds

This is the machine, it is a juice press. It has two separate functions and power leads. Grind / Press. I plan to only use the press function.

s-l1600-2.jpg
 
Joined
30 Dec 2018
Messages
12,445
Reaction score
1,761
Country
United Kingdom
This is the machine, it is a juice press. It has two separate functions and power leads. Grind / Press. I plan to only use the press function.

I would not expect that to demand more than 13amps, but double check. Also double check the voltage and frequency specification. USA commonly uses 120v at 60Hz. UK is 240v (230v nominal) 50 Hz.
 
Joined
30 Jan 2021
Messages
265
Reaction score
53
Country
United Kingdom
In your first picture it looks like a blank way on the left.
 
Joined
24 Feb 2007
Messages
556
Reaction score
3
Country
United Kingdom
Thank you very much guys. The machine has been sold to the UK market so will be spec'd as such.

Well spotted, there is indeed a blank! Thats great news and its in the garage so the missus won't shout at me :)
 
Joined
28 Jul 2009
Messages
6,940
Reaction score
596
Location
Kent
Country
United Kingdom
Thank you very much guys. The machine has been sold to the UK market so will be spec'd as such.

Well spotted, there is indeed a blank! Thats great news and its in the garage so the missus won't shout at me :)
And 6 spare in the second pic but the lables don't tally with the MCB's
And if that's the actual machine you are buying in your 3rd pic it's fitted with a red [3 phase plug]

Check carefully.

Are you comfortable wiring a plug, if so it's a lot cheaper than the adapter cable.
 
Joined
24 Feb 2007
Messages
556
Reaction score
3
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks. No thats not the actual machine. The plug is as in the first photo. No problem rewiring plugs so when I receive will take a look at doing that. Thanks ;)
 
Joined
30 Dec 2018
Messages
12,445
Reaction score
1,761
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks. No thats not the actual machine. The plug is as in the first photo. No problem rewiring plugs so when I receive will take a look at doing that. Thanks ;)

No I'm really confused. The motor looks as if it may well be 3 phase, the red plug likewise. UK normally has a 3 phase supply to commercial/industrial premises, but usually single phase to most homes. Does the OP have a 3 Phase supply where he intends using this unit?
 
Joined
20 Nov 2012
Messages
2,359
Reaction score
405
Location
Dumfriesshire
Country
United Kingdom
This would be a lot more informative if you simply provided a photo of the manufacturer's data plate which will show voltage, No of phases and current requirements
 
Joined
24 Feb 2007
Messages
556
Reaction score
3
Country
United Kingdom
Morning guys, I've now got the machine in my hands and am able to provide details.

The machine has two main elements a grinder and a press. They both terminate to the same type of plugs..

This is the data plate for the grinder:

IMG_9147.JPG

and this is the data plate for the press (the press then connects to the following transformer, before mains):

IMG_9149.JPG IMG_9153.JPG IMG_9154.JPG IMG_9155.JPG

Trust I can remove these plugs and replace with standard household UK 3 pins?

IMG_9150.JPG IMG_9152.JPG

Many thanks.
 
Joined
30 Dec 2018
Messages
12,445
Reaction score
1,761
Country
United Kingdom
Trust I can remove these plugs and replace with standard household UK 3 pins?

Yep, should be fine, but two slight concerns....

They are marked 230v, in the UK we have 240v so it is a few percent high.

The start up current draw is often much higher than the running current, you may find it blows the occasional 13amp fuse.
 

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

 
Sponsored Links
Top