1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

L6-20 Plugs convert to standard 240v?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by devs, 5 Feb 2021.

  1. devs

    devs

    Joined:
    24 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    482
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi guys, I'm in the process of buying a small commercial grade machine and the power is:

    "L6-20 Plugs; Recommend 15 Amp breaker"

    Screen Shot 2021-02-05 at 06.02.44.png

    Any I able to buy an adapter or convert this somehow for standard home use?

    Many thanks.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. mattylad

    mattylad

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    7,693
    Thanks Received:
    544
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    IF a 15 amp breaker is recommended then your 13a sockets may not be enough to power it.
    Can you add a 16A breaker in your consumer unit and a new 4mm+ cable to a matching socket?
    Where is the machine going to be used and what supply have you got available there?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    17,120
    Thanks Received:
    1,564
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes you can get the adaptor [​IMG] but it is down to if 13 amp outlet is good enough to start with. And it would be easier to just fit a 13 amp plug if that was the case.
     
  5. plugwash

    plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    9,244
    Thanks Received:
    323
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Your photo doesn't match your description. L6-20 is an american twist-lock plug type but what you show in your photo looks like a "CEEFORM".

    What exactly is the machine? do you have proper specifications/instructions available.
     
  6. SUNRAY

    SUNRAY

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2009
    Messages:
    4,020
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is What I know to be L6-20[​IMG]your pic looks like a CEEForm plug

    However I'm very confused, I think the bottom right of your pic looks like another connector and I wonder if you have a CEEForm to L6-20 socket adapter there.


    EDIT: I started my reply about 09:00 then distracted by family issues and didn't think to check for replies before posting.
     
  7. devs

    devs

    Joined:
    24 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    482
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello guys and thanks for all the replies. You are correct it is not a L6-20. I spoke to the manufacturers in the states and they said it used that but they mustn't have realised it was a UK machine.

    Matty, I check the consumer units and they are all full unfortunately in both the garage and house. See below:

    IMG_8719.JPG IMG_8718.JPG

    I've had a look and these should do the job?

    https://www.cef.co.uk/catalogue/pro...jzQ1Avbl-wlOaRElNl0aAkO-EALw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds

    This is the machine, it is a juice press. It has two separate functions and power leads. Grind / Press. I plan to only use the press function.

    s-l1600-2.jpg
     
  8. Harry Bloomfield

    Harry Bloomfield

    Joined:
    30 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    4,809
    Thanks Received:
    669
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would not expect that to demand more than 13amps, but double check. Also double check the voltage and frequency specification. USA commonly uses 120v at 60Hz. UK is 240v (230v nominal) 50 Hz.
     
  9. TimboTwo

    TimboTwo

    Joined:
    30 Jan 2021
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In your first picture it looks like a blank way on the left.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. devs

    devs

    Joined:
    24 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    482
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you very much guys. The machine has been sold to the UK market so will be spec'd as such.

    Well spotted, there is indeed a blank! Thats great news and its in the garage so the missus won't shout at me :)
     
  12. SUNRAY

    SUNRAY

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2009
    Messages:
    4,020
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    And 6 spare in the second pic but the lables don't tally with the MCB's
    And if that's the actual machine you are buying in your 3rd pic it's fitted with a red [3 phase plug]

    Check carefully.

    Are you comfortable wiring a plug, if so it's a lot cheaper than the adapter cable.
     
  13. devs

    devs

    Joined:
    24 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    482
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks. No thats not the actual machine. The plug is as in the first photo. No problem rewiring plugs so when I receive will take a look at doing that. Thanks ;)
     
  14. Harry Bloomfield

    Harry Bloomfield

    Joined:
    30 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    4,809
    Thanks Received:
    669
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No I'm really confused. The motor looks as if it may well be 3 phase, the red plug likewise. UK normally has a 3 phase supply to commercial/industrial premises, but usually single phase to most homes. Does the OP have a 3 Phase supply where he intends using this unit?
     
  15. Jackrae

    Jackrae

    Joined:
    20 Nov 2012
    Messages:
    2,151
    Thanks Received:
    354
    Location:
    Dumfriesshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This would be a lot more informative if you simply provided a photo of the manufacturer's data plate which will show voltage, No of phases and current requirements
     
    • Like Like x 2
  16. devs

    devs

    Joined:
    24 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    482
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Morning guys, I've now got the machine in my hands and am able to provide details.

    The machine has two main elements a grinder and a press. They both terminate to the same type of plugs..

    This is the data plate for the grinder:

    IMG_9147.JPG

    and this is the data plate for the press (the press then connects to the following transformer, before mains):

    IMG_9149.JPG IMG_9153.JPG IMG_9154.JPG IMG_9155.JPG

    Trust I can remove these plugs and replace with standard household UK 3 pins?

    IMG_9150.JPG IMG_9152.JPG

    Many thanks.
     
  17. Harry Bloomfield

    Harry Bloomfield

    Joined:
    30 Dec 2018
    Messages:
    4,809
    Thanks Received:
    669
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep, should be fine, but two slight concerns....

    They are marked 230v, in the UK we have 240v so it is a few percent high.

    The start up current draw is often much higher than the running current, you may find it blows the occasional 13amp fuse.
     
Loading...

Share This Page