Landlords DIY Electrics

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there,

I'm new to this forum but have a question about my landlords DIY electrics.

So basically he has managed to wire an extension lead to the light junction box in the kitchen pantry.

The lead is not controlled by the light switch, it is permanently live and just sort of hangs there in the cupboard. I'm not an expert but I'm not sure this complies with any sort of electrical regulations, however the property did receive an electrical safety certificate.

Is it me or is this dangerous?

Thanks in advance for your advice.

upload_2016-5-16_15-17-37.png

Sponsored Links
Do you know that it is on a lighting circuit? The fact that there is a light on it does not guarantee this.

There is nothing unsafe, per se, with a socket on a lighting circuit, but the way that that one has been done, with inadequate cable restraints, is not right.

Thanks for your reply.

To be honest I've not gone back to the fuse box to work out which circuit the light and extension socket are on, I was a little surprised this complies with UK regulation.

The property also one of the bedrooms fed with a 5m extension lead plugged into a neighbouring room with the cable through the wall.

There's also feature lighting in a staircase, the wires being contained in a plastic box and just hanging down freely from the top of the stairs (see below)

upload_2016-5-16_15-46-25.png

However if your view is this is perfectly ok for a rented accommodation then I thank you for your opinion, I just assumed there were more health and safety regulations these days to prevent landlords and DIY electrics.

Cheers

Dangerous on two counts

Electically it is a socket into which a 3 kW ( 13 amp current ) appliance could be plugged, the lighting circuit is not designed to carry that much current so ( hopefully ) has a 6 amp MCB protecting it. The appliance would cause the MCB to trop putting out most if not all the lights.