Levelling Concrete for Solid Wood Floor

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I am trying to lay a solid oak floor in our hallway (5 sq. metres) and what started out a nice idea is turning into a nightmare. Any help or advice would be gratefully appreciated.

My original plan was to fully bond the wood directly to the concrete floor using something like Sika T54 or Rewmar MS Polymer adhesive. However, after lifting the existing carpet and putting a level on the floor, it would appear that I have a couple of depressions upto 5mm running across the centre of the floor. There are also a couple of small but deep dents in the floor.

Although the house is less than 5 years old and is likely to have a DPM, I was going to put down one coat of Stopgap 76 to be on the safe side. Given the level problems, I rang F-Ball and they suggested putting the F76 down, followed by P131 primer, then the Stopgap 300 compound. Does this seem to be the best approach? Being an amateur, I am worried that I will actually make the floor worse using the levelling compound - is this possible. I would imagine that as long as I put down a sufficient layer, it should naturally fall into the greatest areas of depression? Also, how best should I fill the deeper indents - using the compound or something else prior to the compound.

Although I am a little nervous doing all this, my plan of action is:

1. Use wire brush to remove all adhesive from previous underlay, then clean the floor with sugar soap solution (is it best to mop or brush this across the floor). Allow at least 24 hours to dry.

2. Put down Stopgap F76 wall-to-wall putting down slightly thicker to hopefully avoid pinholes, etc. Allow to dry at least 24 hours.

3. Put down P131 over DPM.

4. Put down Stopgap 300 using trowel and spiked roller. Focus on filling the depressions but getting a 3mm level across the rest of the floor. When it starts to dry, remove any obvious lumps with a wet trowel.