Loft Insulation Help/Advice Need

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I hope some someone or some people might be able to help with some loft insulation advice.
My parents house has a top floor loft conversion . I have noticed that the top floor rooms are really cold compared to the other rooms downstairs and seems cool down alot more faster than the other rooms.

The rooms upstairs have had double glazing installed, So i asked my dad if the loft was insulated. He is not too sure and thinks it was done when he had a new roof put on about 15 years ago but my dad 76 years old and not too sure and it might have been done by someone else.

So I took a look up in the loft and I don't believe it is insulated well but I am not an expert and could be wrong.

So I decided to take some pictures and hoping that maybe somone with alot of experience in loft insulation could give me some advice on what might needed to be done to improve it.

//www.diynot.com/network/Dave30/albums/7210

I have also included some pictures of my neighbours outside wall loft conversion which was done about 2 years ago.

The outside wall which looks like a tile/brick finish which is different from our one which is PVC or plastic , which might offer better insulation?.

I have also included this in the album pictures.

If you require and any other pictures or details please let me know:)

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Dave

Sponsored Links
Sorry to say this but it looks a flippin' mess! Looks like a bunch of cowboys held a party up there. Bits of the roof seem to have been treated with spray-on foam and some of the floor looks completely bereft of insulation while there seems to be a huge mountain of discarded glass wool somewhere else.

Where in the country are you? If it was Lancs I'd come over for a gliff, it looks interesting! My advice would be to get somebody in to give a professional opinion.