Loft insulation - help!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

The house I've moved into has about 100mm loft wool inbetween joists and is boarded out above this. I'd like to improve the insulation as I believe 100mm isn't enough.

Can I lay Kingspan directly on the boards or is this a prepostorous idea? I'm totally new to this and would be grateful for some help. I would like to improve the loft insulation without wool etc if possible but not sure how to go about doing it. Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Correct.

How are you going to get it into the loft?

Wool is better suited to lofts for a number of reasons.

I have a large loft hatch with pull down ladders. I would like to still use the loft for light storage; even if it's just a small area.

Its probably going to be cheaper to lift the boards and increase the wool insulation, then add lifter joists or a system and rebourd. You do have to be mindful of the extra weight the joists will add.

or try something like this
Loft-Board-1.jpg

Sponsored Links
Leaving the boards in underneath an extra layer of insulation will increase the weight of the roof, which isn't ideal. On the other hand it also supports the Kingstown boards which is probably good.

The main things to watch out for are gaps. Any gaps will allow warm air to escape, bypassing your new expensive insulation.

Right or wrong I've got a section in the middle of the loft with 100mm in between the rafters, 100mm of kingspan above and then 3mm hardy board on top to protect the insulation. It seems to work and building control were out last week and didn't object.

Around the edges of the loft I've got standard rockwool to 300mm depth as it's not worth wasting Kingspan on areas that aren't suitable for storage.