Loft Wiring (Getting an extra plug socket) HELP!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Right as stated in a couple of other posts i am in the middle of getting my loft turned into my bedroom and i am a student so trying to do some of it myself and on the cheap.

I only have one double wall socket which is inconvenient to say the least to i want to put in 1 or 2 more.

is it possible to take the wires from the existing socket, put them in a junction box and run the new wires to the existing and new sockets?

My house still has its original wiring so has no earth wiring is this a problem with a junction box?

Thanks,

Sean

Sponsored Links
There's no earth wire on the socket circuit? Or do you mean the lights.

There's no earth wire on the socket circuit? Or do you mean the lights.

i am a student so trying to do some of it myself and on the cheap.

Doing it on the cheap can mean you are very likely to create a dangerous situation that might even be a seriosu hazard to life.

Putting electrics to the side for a moment.

You say you are converting a loft to a bedroom. What was the loft before you started the conversion to a bedroom ?

Do you own the house ?

Is it a properly constructed room with all the necessary checking and if necessary strengthening of joists supporting the floor properly carried out ?

Has the conversion got planning and building control approval ?

Loft conversions done "on the cheap" have been known to collapse into the room(s) below with fatal results.

Sponsored Links
No earth wires in any circuits in the house.

No it is my mums house it was used as a bedroom before she moved in (over 20 years ago) and the joiner that put the stairs in checked to see if floors were strong enough they are they have walls and everything its just needing refurbished and modernized lets say.

Thanks again,

Sean

In which case stop now and call an electrician in - your house is dangerous. :eek:
Words of wisdom there bouncer!