Loss of hot water pressure after changing taps!??!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've just moved in to a new place, and all the taps were pretty awful, so one by one I've replaced them.

The thing is the pressure on both the hot and cold taps was always really good on the old taps, each time I've changed one the pressure on the hot tap has been reduced. :( Only on the tap I've replaced though.

Now I've modernised all the taps in the house, and replaced the seperate bath taps with a mixer with shower head, I now have poor hot water pressure on all of them! It's not dribbling, just not enough to have a good shower, or fill the bath anything like as quickly as it used to. Plus due to the U shape of the kitchen tap, the hot now kinda runs all over the sink edge, whereas the cold tap easily has enough pressure to reach the sink!

I'm not too experienced in plumbing, so I don't know if there's some vacuum created, or some obvious reason why the pressure isn't as high as it was.

Any ideas?

If it helps, the house only has water heating, there's no central heating[/code]

Sponsored Links
If it's any help - I had a similiar problem when I replaced a kitchen mixer. The new tap I fitted had 8mm flexible tails. Cold was OK but hot was hopeless.

The cold supply is at mains pressure & worked OK. I am told that these types of taps are generally designed & are more suited for installations where the hot is also at mains pressure - this is a design common on the continent but rare in the UK.

I have since replaced the tap again with a new miker with standard 1/2 inch tap connectors & hey presto - problem solved.

Hope this helps

But all the sink taps I've fitted already have 1/2 BSP fittings (Except the bath taps that are 3/4BSP) One sink I fitted braided flexible connectors on, but another I did a straight swap and used the exsisiting plumbing entirely.

(On the bath however, the cold tap had 15mm pipe, and the hot tap had 22mm!)